HISTORIC MP (Sketches of Historic Sites, Homes and Businesses in Mt. Pleasant)

HISTORIC MT. PLEASANT

This section of Mt. Pleasant by the Minutes is based upon a map of “Historic Mt. Pleasant” that was created by the late Billie McAllister while she was serving as curator/caretaker of the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society. Using this map as a template, this writer has added several other “historic” locations within the MP town limits and written “sketches” describing their history and significance within the towns growth. The sketches attempt to provide information using the earliest records of the owners of the land and/or houses. In many cases the houses or buildings which now occupy the locations are not the original structures and those that do exist have been remodeled and modified many times since their original construction. In many instances the described locations no longer contain a structure of any kind.  Additional information about these and other properties in Mt. Pleasant can be found in the “MP Deeds” section of this narrative following this chapter.

1) North Woods –  Said to be the location of a spring where travelers stopped on their trips between Salisbury and Charleston.  It was also called the “North Pole” by the female students at Mont Amoena  with whom it was a favorite “courting” location.  This is probably the “Woods Spring” referred to in the Town Board Minutes. Today it is incorporated as part of the Inn at Mt. Pleasant Bed & Breakfast (see #2 below).

2)  L. A. Lipe House – (Also known as “the Mills House’)Census and property records indicate that in 1870, a house located on this property was occupied by Thomas L. Woods, age 50; his wife, Elvira (Roena), age 40; Elizabeth Cole, age 60, mother of Roena Woods; Martha Lefler, age 25, daughter of Elizabeth Cole and widow of Peter A. Lefler, and Littleberry Lefler, age 9, son of Martha Lefler.  Thomas Woods had married Roena Cole in 1851 in Cabarrus County, and in 1869 Elizabeth Cole sold to her daughter, Roena Cole Woods, 41/2 acres of land on the Salisbury Rd. It is not known when Roena Woods died, but according to property records the land was inherited by her daughter, Mary Jane “Jennie” Woods Smith, wife of John Allen Smith.  In 1880 Thomas L. Woods, age 63, and Mattie Lefler, age 43, were residing in a residence on this property.  In 1914 the heirs of Jennie Woods Smith sold the tract of land to Luther A. Lipe and his wife, Marie Barringer.  Lipe was residing on this site by 1920 and appears to have constructed the present house on the property prior to that time. In 1941, L. A. Lipe sold the house to his adopted son, Harry S. Lipe, and his wife, Flonnie Burris. The property was involved in a judgment in 1942 whereby it served as collateral for money owed by the deceased L. A. Lipe to Ray Barringer and George Casper.  In 1943 the property was sold to James B. Mills. In 1972 the house was acquired by the Mills heirs and was sold in 1973 to Lloyd Shue. Shue sold it to Jerry T. Gordon in 1975. In 2000, Sylvia Simpson converted the residence into a bed & breakfast which she named The Inn at Mt. Pleasant. Sylvia Simpson died in 2019 and the property was inherited by her niece, Johnette Gordon Preddy. In 2022 the property was purchased by Virginia and Thomas Weitnauer and the Inn was reopened.

3)  Julian Thayer House –The property on which the Thayer house stands was actually  two lots which appear to have belonged to the Eudie (Eudy) family prior to 1870.  John M. Harkey, son of Catherine Eudy, and grandson of Conrad Eudy and Elizabeth Harkey, owned one lot prior to 1870. In 1875, Jonas Peacock purchased the adjacent (north side) lot from John and Mary Eudy.  John Eudy was the son of James Eudie and great-grandson of  Conrad Eudy and Elizabeth Harkey.  It is not clear if or when Harkey or Peacock built houses on their property.  [Harkey also purchased land from Daniel Barrier in the vicinity of Mt. Pleasant in 1857 and he was residing in Mt. Pleasant in 1860.  In 1877, Harkey and Peacock sold their respective lots to Julian Thayer, a machinist who moved to MP from Gold Hill. Thayer maintained a shop behind the residence where he invented and later patented a “Gin Saw Sharpening Machine.”  He also built a “bucket factory” which burned the day after it began operation.  The children of Julian Thayer inherited the property (divided into 3 lots) in 1915. One of the children, Charles Thayer, bought his siblings’ shares of the property and resided in the homeplace until his death in 1958.  In 1985, Charles Thayer’s heirs sold the house and lot to Lee & Janette Kluttz who currently reside in the house.  The residence located at  736 N. Main St.

4)  Miller Lumber Company – The property on which Miller Lumber Company is located was listed
in 1860 as owned by Rev. John D. Scheck and J. W. House.  Rev. Sheck had previously been the Minister at St. John’s Lutheran Church and had taught at the Western Carolina Male Academy in Mt. Pleasant. St. John’s Lutheran Church may also have had a financial interest in the property, as in 1860, Scheck and House sold a seventeen acre tract which included this property to Rev. G. D. Bernheim, the Minister at St. John’s in that year.  In 1858 Bernheim had been the Financial Agent for the Lutheran Synod as it sought to convert the Western Carolina Male Academy in Mt. Pleasant to what became NC College.  Also in 1858, Bernheim had purchased another lot in Mt. Pleasant south of the Academy and built a house on this property. Bernheim was a member of the first Board of Trustees of NC College and served as the President of NC College in 1882-’83. He later purchased and operated the Mt. Pleasant Female Academy (Mont Amonea) [see #80 below].  In 1884 Bernheim sold his seventeen acre tract to Dr. R. A. Shimpock.  Shimpock was a medical doctor who lived in Gold Hill, NC. He was the son of Daniel Shimpock and nephew of John Shimpock of Mt. Pleasant who had purchased the adjacent property in 1859 [see #9 below]. In 1889, R. A. Shimpock sold 151/2 acres of the property to a group of investors incorporated as Frick Manufacturing Company [CDB 45, p. 224].  The investors included John W. Frick, Daniel A. Wiley, William G. Barringer, Jonas Cook, and Daniel D. Barrier. In August, 1889, J. W. Frick purchased an additional thirty-two acres of land adjacent to the Shimpock property from George W. Blackwelder and his wife, Amy Lippard Blackwelder.  The Frick Mfg. Co. proceeded to sub-divide its property and construct a lumber plant on a portion of the land.  In 1889, H. A. Blackwelder purchased two acres of the tract from the corporation. In 1890, H. C. McAllister purchased “Lot #1” from the corporation.  In 1893 another group of investors formed the Mt. Pleasant Manufacturing Co. and purchased Frick Mgf. Co.  The investors named in the incorporation papers were Dr. P. A. Barrier, Jonas Cook, L. J. Foil, H. C. McAllister, W. G. Barringer, D. D. Barrier, G. W.. Blackwelder, Felix Yorke, John C. Wadsworth, William M. Eudy, and W. H. Fisher.  In 1897, John L. C. Miller from Rowan County joined the partnership and in 1917-’18, Miller bought out his partners and became the sole owner of Miller Lumber Company which also operated a grist mill and cotton gin.  Miller subsequently entered a partnership with M. Dwight Kluttz, and together the two men operated the lumber plant and an undertaking business. The main building of the lumber plant was destroyed by fire in 1921 but was rebuilt and continued in operation.  After Miller’s death in 1936, Dwight Kluttz owned and operated the business. Kluttz’s son, Arthur Lee Kluttz, inherited the business after the death of his father in 1968. In 2013, the main building again burned, but it was once more rebuilt and continues to operate. Arthur Lee passed away in June 2022 and the business is now owned and operated by his son, Lee. The address is 680 Jackson St.

5) Paul Barringer House The lot on which this house was built was purchased in 1897 from the owners of the nearby Mt. Pleasant Mfg. Company by Rev. Paul Barringer and his wife, Alice Foil Barringer. Rev. Barringer and his wife’s brother, L. J. Foil, were both partners in MP Mfg. Company.  Rev. Barringer built a house on this lot between 1897-1899. Tradition states that the ornate trimmings which still adorn the house were manufactured at the MP Mfg. Co. After Rev. Barringer’s death in 1925, the house was occupied by his son, Lawson Herman Barringer. Following the death of L. H. Barringer’s wife, Ruth Barnhardt Barringer in 1977, the house was occupied by their daughter Cheryl Barringer Heintz and her husband, Don Heintz. In 1984, David F. Barnhardt and his wife, Doris Triplett Barnhardt acquired the house.  Barnhardt was a distant relative of the wife of L. H. Barringer. David Barnhardt died in 2010 and Doris died in 2012. The house is currently owned by the Barnhardt Family Doris Property, LLC.  The current address is 787 N. Main St.

6) Seaford House – Land records state that in 1902 George W. Blackwelder sold a house on this property to his son-in-law, J. H. C. Fisher, and his wife, Leah J. Blackwelder Fisher. (In 1902, J. H. C. Fisher became the Principal at Mont Amoena Female Seminary in Mt. Pleasant.)  In 1907 Fisher sold the property to Calvin M. Cress and his wife, Eugenia C. Barrier. It is not known if Cress built a new house on the property or occupied the house that was already there. In 1917 Cress sold the property to Samuel Turner Seaford and his wife, Ida Belle Barringer Seaford. Ida Belle Seaford was the daughter of William G. Barringer who lived about one block north of the property on what is now Jackson St.  Barringer had been one of the owners of the nearby Frick Mfg. Co. which became Miller Lumber Company. Turner Seaford was employed by Miller Lumber Co. at the time he purchased the property. The house was later occupied by Seaford’s daughter, Helen, and her husband, John Herion.  In 1992 the house was sold to Robert “Bobby” Cloninger and his wife, Starr Shoaf Cloninger.  Today the house is owned by Deborah Starr Cloninger.  The current address is  817 N. Main St.

7) Sidney Kluttz HouseIn 1904 John Sidney Columbus Kluttz purchased a half-acre lot where this house now stands from A. C. Barrier and his wife, Jane Shimpock Barrier. The land had originally belonged to John Shimpock, father of Jane Barrier.  In 1905 Sidney Kluttz purchased an additional three-fifths acre lot behind this property from W. H. Fisher and his wife, Margaret Shimpock Fisher. Margaret was the daughter of Daniel Shimpock and the niece of John Shimpock. Sidney Kluttz had moved to MP from Rowan Co. and began working with J. L. C. Miller in his lumber mill located nearby.  Around 1914 Kluttz built his own woodworking shop near his home, and in 1922 his business was located behind his residence on what is now Kluttz Street.  In 1961 Sidney B. Kluttz, son of S. C. Kluttz, purchased the house from his father’s estate.  The house passed through two owners in 1972-’74 and is currently owned by Gary L. Blackmon.  The address is 823 N. Main St.

8) W. H. Fisher House The ownership of this property can be traced as far back as 1834 when Jacob Williams sold a fifty acre tract of land to Daniel Walker, who, at that time was the postmaster of Walker’s Store in what became the Town of Mt. Pleasant. In 1845, Walker sold fifty-seven acres from from his original purchase to Issac Moose, a local blacksmith. In 1853 Moose sold fifty-one acres of his land to Mathias Barrier, of which, Barrier sold sixteen acres to the Trustees of the Western Carolina Male Academy.  In 1859 Barrier sold eleven acres which included this property to Rev. Joseph A. Linn. (Linn was the Chairman of the North Carolina Lutheran Synod when he proposed the school that became Western Carolina Academy and later North Carolina College. Linn, apparently purchased this land for speculative purposes (or perhaps a future home) as there is no record of his residing on the property before his death n 1864. In 1874 the property was owned by Edward D. Lentz and his brother, Aaron G. Lentz. In 1880 A. G. Lentz sold a one-acre lot from his portion of the property to William H. Fisher and his wife, Margaret Shimpock Fisher. In 1890 E. D. Lentz sold 7.5 acres of land, including his portion of the “Linn Tract” to Fisher.  Sometime between 1880 and 1890, Fisher erected the existing house on his property.  W. H. Fisher died in 1918 and Margaret died in 1927.  Later in 1927, Ora Fisher McEachern, daughter of W. H. Fisher and widow of Jesse Y. McEachern, was “sold” ownership of the property by her brother, Arthur W. Fisher, “during the term of her natural life.”  Ora died in 1945, and the house reverted back to Arthur.  Arthur Fisher died in 1967, and the property was inherited by his children. In 1990 the house and lot were sold to Raymond and Jacqueline Gillman. The current address is 934 N. Main St.

9) Shimpock/Cook HouseEarly land records for the property on which this house was built are unclear.  Tradition states that Rev. John D. Scheck, the Minister at St. John’s Lutheran Church, built the house about 1845. No deed of purchase has been located for Scheck’s acquisition of the land.  Scheck left St. John’s in 1858 and moved to Guilford Co. NC.  On 9 Apr 1859, Scheck sold this house and a ninety-six acre tract of land to Daniel Miller. Three days later (12 Apr 1859) Miller sold the house and the ninety-six acres to John Shimpock. John Shimpock was living in the residence in 1860. At the time he was one of the wealthiest men in eastern Cabarrus County and a former NC State Legislator. Shimpock wrote his will in 1882 bequeathing all of his houses and property to his wife, but also leaving instructions that upon his wife’s death the house and adjoining 119 acres of land were to go to his daughter, Martha Cook, wife of Jonas Cook. Martha Cook pre-deceased her father by three years and at Shimpock’s death in 1896, the house was retained by his widow.  In 1900, Christina Shimpock was still in the house, living with her was her widowed son-in-law, Jonas Cook, and his children.  At Christina’s death in 1902, the house and land were inherited by Jonas Cook. Cook was one of Mt. Pleasant’s most influential citizens.  He served as a Magistrate/Justice of the Peace, town Commissioner, Mayor, County Commissioner, treasurer of North Carolina College and Holy Trinity Lutheran Church.  Cook was also well known for his interest in horticulture and animal husbandry. He built the gazebo that still stands beside the house to showcase his various plants and flowers. Cook continued to reside in the house until his death in 1912. The residence remained in the Cook family until 1999 when it was sold to Robert & Kay Amos. The current address is 955 N. Main St.  This is the oldest house in Mt. Pleasant still used as a residence.

10) Litaker/Shue House -The property on which this house stands was sold to Rev, John D. Shirey by John Shimpock in 1890.  Rev. Shirey had just moved to Mt. Pleasant to serve as President of North Carolina College.  Shirey apparently did not build a residence on this property as he died in 1896 while still living in the “President’s House” on the NCC campus. Following Shirey’s death, the property was acquired by Dr. R. A. Shimpock, and in 1903 he sold it to Julia Fisher Wheeler, widow of Cyrus J. Wheeler and daughter of Solomon Fisher.  Julia’s brother, William H. Fisher, lived “across Main Street” from this property.  Julia Wheeler died without heirs in 1918, and in 1919 the property was sold at public auction to Margaret M. Fisher Litaker. Margaret was the widow of Josiah Joseph Litaker and the sister of Julia Fisher Wheeler.  Records indicate that Margaret Litaker built the house which currently stands on the property.  Margaret Litaker died in 1929. and in 1931 her house and property was involved in a legal action between Margaret’s son, Charles L. Litaker, and his sister, Esther L. Fisher Stallings. The Court ordered the property sold at auction and it was purchased by Charles.  In 1933, Charles Litaker sold the property to Rev. William Jennings Boger and his wife, Jennie Cook Boger. Jennie Boger was the daughter of Jonas Cook and the grand-daughter of the original owner of the property, John Shimpock.  In 1944, W. J. and Jennie Boger sold the property to their son, Henry C. Boger, who, in turn, sold it to Ben A. Shue and his wife, Helen Hartman Shue. in 1960. Ben Shue died in 2001 and Helen sold the property to Jonathan D. Pierson.  The current owners are Chris A. & Kimberlee Davis. The address is 999 N. Main St

11) Bittle House –The house that once stood here was built by Rev. Daniel H. Bittle and his wife, Susan Bigelow Bittle.  Rev. Bittle was appointed President of North Carolina College 1859, and his wife was the first Principal of Mont Amoena Seminary.  Bittle purchased a one-acre lot in 1859 from John Shimpock in 1860 and constructed his residence. Tradition states that Susan Bittle designed the house and oversaw its unique construction which consisted of two-story walls (interior and exterior) built with interconnected sections of rough-hewn 2″ by 4″ pine boards laid flat side down on top of each other. The Bittle’s left Mt. Pleasant at the beginning of the Civil War, and apparently John Shimpock repurchased the property.  In 1864 Shimpock sold the lot and an additional seven acres to Edmund D. Lentz. Lentz may have lived in the house for some period or in a house next door.  E. D. Lentz died in 1900, and his estate was divided among several heirs.  In 1904 a portion of the land, including this house, was sold to Jonas Cook and L. J. Foil (Cook & Foil). In 1906 Sally Weiser, daughter of C. H. Fisher and widow of Charles H. Weiser, bought the house and the original one acre lot.  In 1922 Weiser sold the house to the Mt. Pleasant Collegiate Institute.  Between 1922 and 1933 the house was designated as Barracks #2 and was used as a dormitory for students at MPCI.  In 1933, as part of the settlement of the closing of MPCI, the house was deeded to Ms. Emma McAllister, daughter of H. C. McAllister former principal of MPCI.  Ms. McAllister sold the house to Ben Callahan in 1957, at which time it was demolished. The current house was constructed in 1958.  The current address is 1025 N. Main St.

12)  W. D. Foil House – The property on which this house is located appears to be part of a tract of land sold to E. D. Lentz by John Shimpock in 1864.  Lentz died in 1900 with no direct heirs and in 1904 his surviving siblings sold 31/2 acres of this land to W. D. Foil, L. J. Foil and Jonas Cook (Cook & Foil). The tract was described as “a vacant lot adjoining the home lot of E. D. Lentz, deceased,” and it included an easement for a sixty foot wide street to be laid off in the middle of the tract from Main St. to John Shimpock’s line.” [This appears to be the easement for present day Cook St.]  Tradition states that W. D. Foil built the present house on this lot in 1904, but E. D. Lentz may have built a house on the property after 1864.  W. D. Foil died in 1939, and in 1940 his heirs sold the house and the portion of the lot north of the Cook St. easement to Rev. Charles Warlick.  Rev. Warlick was the former Minister at St. James Reformed Church in Mt. Pleasant.  Following the death of the Rev. Warlick in 1967, the house was sold to Ralph Austin and Arthur Lee Kluttz.  In 1970 Austin and Kluttz sold the property to A. W. “Drew” Harvell and his wife, Geneva Barringer Harvell.  Drew Harvell died in 2003 and Geneva died in 2004.  Jim Sells currently resides in the house.  The address is 1045 N. Main St.

13)  NC College Dormitory – This building is located on property that once belonged to North Carolina College/Mt. Pleasant Collegiate Institute. Prior to the construction of the building now on the site, the area was used as a drill ground, tennis court and (outdoor) basketball court by MPCI. The building was built as a dormitory for MPCI in 1925. When the property of MPCI was auctioned in 1941, the building was initially purchased by W. J. & A. C. Widenhouse and A. J Furr. In 1947 Dr. A. L. Barringer bought the building and converted the 1st floor into his offices and the upper two floors into apartments.  In 1969 Dr. Barringer sold the building to John L. Fink.  In 1971 John Fink sold the property to Billy Lynch.  Since 1971, the property has changed ownership several times.  In 2015, the building, called MPCI Apts., was sold by JGS Services, Inc. (Gary Shive, Mgr) to Gittens Revocable Trust.  The current address in 1073 N. College St.

14)   NC College Building (Ludwig Hall) –  The building which stood on this site, originally named the Pi Sigma Phi Literary Hall, and later called Ludwig Hall, was one of two buildings built in 1860 as the Western Carolina Male Academy was re-chartered as North Carolina College. This building contained the  “scientific” laboratories, a library, a reading room and a large debating room on the second floor which served as the gathering place for the members of the Literary Society.  The building was struck by lightning and burned in 1909.  It was not rebuilt.  Today the property is owned by  the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society.

15)    NC College Building (Main Building) –  The land on which this building was built was purchased by Jacob Williams from Christian Hurlocker in 1833 (See #8 above).  In 1836, Williams sold the tract to Daniel Walker.  In 1845, Walker sold 57 acres from this tract to Isaac Moose, a local blacksmith.  In 1853, Moose sold 51 acres to Mathias Barrier and that same year Barrier sold 16 acres of the tract to the Trustees of the Western Carolina Male Academy.  This building, constructed in 1854-55 at a cost of $7,000, was the location of the Western Carolina Male Academy which was organized by the North Carolina Lutheran Synod.  It initially housed classrooms, a chapel, a library and dormitory rooms for the students.  The Academy became North Carolina College in 1859, and the Mt. Pleasant Collegiate Institute in 1903. The school closed in 1933 and the building’s use until 1941 is unknown.  In 1941 it was sold at auction along with the other properties of the College. It was purchased by  W. J. & A. C. Widenhouse and A. J. Furr.  In 1946 the building was sold to Rev. E. G. Parhom whose intention was to open an orphanage.  However, Rev. Parhom was unable to obtain the proper permits, and instead moved himself and his extended family into the building and rented other portions as apartments. In the 1950’s Rev Parrom moved from the building and discontinued its use as rental property.  The building fell into disuse, but in 1973 a group of local citizens formed the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society and purchased the building.   In 1980 the building was placed on the National Historical Register, and also in that year, it was opened as the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society Museum.  Today the building houses 30 rooms of historical artifacts from the earliest history of Mt. Pleasant to the present. The address is 1100 N. Main St.

16)   Society Hall –  This building, one of two built in 1860 for the expansion of North Carolina College, was originally called Philaethean Literary Hall.  It was later renamed Gerhardt Hall, but after 1909 when Ludwig Hall burned, this building became better known as Society Hall.  Originally, the building contained a reading room, library and a debating room on the second floor.  At a later date,  a portion of the building was used as a dining hall until 1911.  When the College/Institute property was sold at public auction in 1941 the building was purchased by Hoy Moose and utilized variously as private apartments, a meeting hall, and as storage for the Town of Mt. Pleasant.  In 1995 the building was sold by Hoy Moose’s son, Whitaker Moose, to the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society.  In 2013 the ECHS re-opened the building which today houses the Society’s office, a library, a 1st floor meeting room and kitchen.  The second floor debating room is used for Society presentations. [See Annotation #26].

17)  The President’s House –  The property on which this house stands was part of the sixteen acre tract sold to the Western Carolina Male Academy by Mathis Barrier in 1853 (see # 15 above).  The house’s original purpose was to provide a residence for the Academy Principal.  It was constructed at the same time as the Academy main building at a cost of  $1,425.  While the Principal of WCMA and several Presidents of NC College occupied the house, it was also used on occasion to house faculty and students.  When MPCI closed in 1933, the house was apparently used as rental property until sold at public auction in 1941 to Lawson H. Barringer.  In 1945, Barringer sold the property to Walter Nance and his wife, Helen Richardson Nance.  Helen Nance was the daughter of Frank R. Richardson and Anna C. Foil and the grand-daughter of J. H. Foil and Camilla Misenheimer and great-granddaughter of Edmond Foil.  The Nance’s completely restored and remodeled the house.  After the death of her husband in 1967, Helen Nance remarried to Robert Hughes. Helen R. Nance Hughes died in 2007, and her daughters sold the house and property to Steven Ashby.  The current address is 8355 Walnut St.

18)  College Dining Hall/Boarding House – It is unclear if a house or building of some type occupied this site prior to 1911. The current building was constructed to serve as the dining hall for MPCI after the Ludwig Society building burned in 1909.  After MPCI closed in 1933, the house remained as rental property until sold at public auction in 1941 to Lee McAllister.  McAllister was the grandson of H. C. McAllister, the builder of the main school building and long time Chairman of the College Board of Trustees. In 1954, Lee McAllister sold the house and property to Walter & Helen Richardson Nance and Frank and Anna Foil Richardson (see #17 above).  In 1960 Nance and Richardson sold the property to Robert O. Williams and his wife, Anna Richardson Williams, daughter of Frank and Anna Richardson.  In 1969, Robert and Anna R. Williams sold the house to their daughter, Anna Willams Miller and her husband. William T. Miller. Since 1971 the house has passed through several owners and is currently owned by Russell and Kimberly Ashbaugh. The address is 1150 N. College St.

19)  Matthias Barrier House –  This house was built shortly after 1853 when Matthias Barrier purchased fifty-one acres of land near Mt. Pleasant from Isaac Moose and then deeded sixteen acres of this land to the Western Carolina Male Academy (see #8 above).  Matthias Barrier died in 1873, and his son, Rufus A. Barrier, inherited the property with a stipulation that two rooms be maintained for Mathias’ widow, Margaret Mitchell Barrier.  Rufus Barrier never resided in the house, choosing instead to build his own residence outside of Mt. Pleasant.  In 1874, Margaret and Rufus Barrier sold the house to Elizabeth Miller Melchor, widow of Christopher Melchor.  Elizabeth Melchor died in 1877 willing the house to her daughter, Amelia, and her husband, Alexander Foil, with the stipulation that Elizabeth’s other daughter, Nancy, be allowed to remain in the house.  Amelia and Alexander refused to accept the property with the stipulation and it was sold at auction to W. W. Reed who then assigned his purchase to Edmund Foil, Alexander Foil’s brother.  Edmond Foil moved into the house in 1880 and after his death in 1891, his wife, Catherine Kluttz Foil, remained in the residence until her death in 1911. The house was sold through several generations but remains in the hands of descendants of Edmond Foil.  It is currently owned by Franklin Drake and Kathryn Shaw.  Franklin is the great-great grandson of  Edmond Foil.  The house, located at 1200 N. College St., is on the National Register of the NC Department of Cultural Resources.

20)  Moses A. Foil House – This house was built cir 1904 by Dr. Moses Alexander Foil.  Dr. Foil moved his medical practice into Mt. Pleasant around 1895 and resided with his widowed mother, Catherine Foil in her residence. Moses married Josephine L. Summer in 1900 and proceeded to build his residence beside his parents’ house (see #19 above).  Dr. Foil opened a Medical Office on W. Franklin St. in Mt. Pleasant around 1906, but in his later years he moved the practice to his home.  Dr. Foil died in 1948 and willed his house to his daughters, Miriam Foil and Margaret Foil Wallace.  Miriam Foil inherited the full share of the property in 1974.  Miriam died in 1997, and in 1998 Jeffrey Fenning purchased the house from the estate.  In 2001, Fenning sold the house to Thomas & Nancy Green. The current owner is Nancy Green who resided in the house. The current address is 1220 N. College St.

21 & 22)  St. James UCC Church  & Parsonage –  The St. James Evangelical Reformed Church was formed in 1894 by the Rev. Paul Barringer and several members of Lower Stone and Bear Creek Churches who lived in and near Mt. Pleasant. The first structure on this site was a wooden frame building built in 1896 on land donated by W. J. Heilig. The cost of the building was $1,400. The current church was built in 1924 at a cost of $26,000. The first parsonage was built between 1907 and 1909 on land donated by M. A. Foil. It is currently owned by the Church and utilized as rental property. The church address is 1215 N. College St. The old parsonage is located at 8530 Walnut St.

23) G. F McAllister House–  The land on which this house stands was referred to in many early documents as the “W.  L. Daniels Lot.”  Based on an 1850 survey, the land appears to be part of the 51 acre tract purchased by Mathias Barrier from Isaac Moose in 1853 (see #19 above). Early deeds describe a small lot matching some of the metes and bounds of this lot passing from Barrier’s tract through several owners beginning in 1864.  By 1880, William L. Daniel and his wife, Milly Mahala Lyerly, resided on a ¾ acre lot described in subsequent documents. In 1881 Daniel and Milly obtained a loan of $100 from Milly’s cousin, George Moose, using the property as collateral. Moose appears to have sold the mortgage to W. Smithdeal.  In January 1894, Jonas Cook & L. J. Foil (Cook & Foil) acquired the property from the Daniels, however, W. Smithdeal retained a portion of the mortgage.  In April 1894, Cook & Foil and Smithdeal sold the property to Mary Ella Welsh, daughter of Daniel Barrier and Margaret Boger, and widow of Benjamin Welsh. Mary Welsh sold the property to Richard M. Blackwelder in 1898. It is not known if a house still stood on the property at this time.  In 1910 Richard M. Blackwelder sold the property and a house to his son, John Alonzo Blackwelder, and his wife, Virginia “Jennie’ Skeen. In 1916 Alonzo and Jennie sold the house to Lois Barrier McEachern, wife of David Ray McEachern.  In 1920 David and Lois McEachen sold the house to George Franklin McAllister and his wife Ethelyn Crabtree McAllister.  McAllister was the son of H. C. McAllister and Principal of the Mt. Pleasant Collegiate Institute.  It is not clear how much of the original wooden house was saved, but the new (and present) residence built by McAllister about 1927 was a brick structure extensively remodeled and enlarged. The new house was also used as a boarding house for students at MPCI, and after that school closed in 1933, it served as a residence for local school teachers.  G. F. McAllister died in 1937, and Ethelyn continued to live in the house until she died in 1968.  In 1968, the McAllister heirs sold the house and property to St. James Reformed Church and it was used as a residence for the Minister.  In 2014, St. James sold the house to Robert Smyley and his wife, Crystal Creed Smyly. In 2016 Crystal Smyly sold the house to Benjamin and Kiesha Garrido. The address is 1320 N. Main St.

24) Dreher House –  This house was said to have been built cir 1858 to serve as a residence for Rev. G. D. Bernheim, the Minister at St. John’s and Mt. Carmel Lutheran Churches.  Rev. Bernheim bought several tracts of land in Mt. Pleasant in 1858.  It appears from the deed description that the lot on which this house was built was purchased from Dr. J. L. Henderson.  An 1860 deed refers to a lot bordering the “parsonage lot “ which implies that the house was already in existence at that time. In 1861 Bernheim sold the house and adjoining property to John M. Harkey who built a residence nearby.  In 1870 Rev. Levi Groseclose, the Minister serving the Holy Trinity and New Bethel congregations, was living in the house. Over the next several years other Lutheran ministers serving nearby congregations resided in the house, including  Rev. Daniel I. Dreher, who was also a member of the first Board of Directors of NC College.  Rev. Dreher died in 1871, but it is not clear from land records who owned the house at that time. In 1876, Martha Barrier Dreher, the widow of Rev. Dreher purchased two acres of land in Mt. Pleasant from George W. Blackwelder.  Census records show that Mattie Dreher was residing in this residence in 1880 and 1900, and it was referred to in several sources as a “boarding house.”  By 1907 Mattie Dreher had moved to Winnsboro, SC, and the house was occupied by Sarah Ann McAllister Misenheimer, daughter of H. C. McAllister and widow of William N. Misenheimer. [There is no record of McAllister or Misenheimer owning the house.]  Mattie Dreher died in 1913 and the house remained in the hands of her children.  Beginning in 1914, the house passed through several owners, none of whom apparently lived there.  In 1936 Esther Earnhardt Foil, wife of Paul B. Foil, and her daughter,  Martha Ann Foil, purchased the house from Theodora Minton, the ex-wife of W. B. McCanless.  (McCanless was the son of the owner of the Kindley Cotton Mill, C. A. McCanless, from 1920-1925. W.B. McCanless had been the Superintendent of the mill and had purchased the adjacent (north) lot in 1920 and built his residence there, which he later lost to his wife in their divorce.) McCanless had purchased the adjacent (north) lot in 1920 and built his residence there. In 1960 Esther and Martha Foil sold the house to Harry A. and Annie Blackwelder. In 1962 Annie Blackwelder, then a widow, sold the house back to Martha Foil and her husband, Edward L. Crowell.  In 1976 Gene Eagle and John Fink purchased the house from Bessie Barbee, and in 1979 Gene and Ann Eagle sold the house to the current owners, Larry and Marie Hampton. In 2018 the Hamptons sold the house to Scott and Kate O’Loughlin, the current residents. The address is 1403 N. Main St.

25)  Petrea House  –  This house stands on property that appears to have been a tract of land that Laban Petea purchased from his father-in-law, Jacob Hurlocker, in 1848. Petrea sold the land to Dr. John L. Henderson in 1857.  Based on the 1860 census, Petrea still lived nearby as he and Henderson were listed adjacent to each other in 1860.  Henderson sold the land to E. D. Lentz in 1869. It is well documented that Petrea maintained a cabinet shop on his land on Cemetery (Walnut St.) and census records show that he continued to live on this street.  Early deeds of surrounding properties also refer to “Petrea’s line” in several surveys.  Laban Petrea died in 1889 and his widow, Frances Smith Petrea, was residing on N. Main St. in 1900. In 1902 the E. D. Lentz heirs sold this property to Frances Petrea. Tradition states that the current house was built at about this time. Francis Petrea died in 1924, and in 1925, her son, Norfleet O. Petrea, purchased his siblings’ shares of the property.  N. O. Petrea died in 1971, and in 1972 his widow, Ethel Hurlocker Petrea, sold the house to Gene Eagle.  Eagle sold the house to Maura J. Eberhardt in that same year.  Maura Eberhardt died in 2012 and his heirs sold the house to the present owner Joyce S. Yates. The current address is 8530 Walnut St.

26)  Mt. Pleasant Graded School –  On 22 Oct 1901 the Cabarrus County Board of Education (James P. Cook, D. J. Little & W. F. Smith) purchased from Daniel Dixon Barrier a 33/8  acre tract of land on Cemetery (Walnut) street adjacent to the Holy Trinity Lutheran Cemetery and Mrs. Frances Petrea.  The school house built  in 1901 on this site, was a three room school that replaced Tammany Hall and South Boston. Tammany Hall and South Boston were one room school houses that had previously served Mt. Pleasant (see #90 below).  A fourth room was added to the Graded School in subsequent years. The first Principal of the Graded School was Hugh Barrier who died in 1913 while serving the school. He was buried in the Lutheran Cemetery next to the school and the placing of flowers on his grave became one of the annual events at the school. The school remained open until the 1920’s and when the new “consolidated” school was built north of town in 1928. Wood from the Graded School was used in the agricultural building of the new school as a reminder of old school’s service to the children of Mt. Pleasant.

27)  St. James UCC Cemetery – The land on which this cemetery stands was part of a tract of twenty-seven acres sold by William R. Kindley to May Jackson, an African American ex-slave, in 1878.  Based on census records, Jackson established his residence on the property.  In 1896 the trustees of  St. James Reformed Church purchased from Jackson 27/8 acres which included “a certain house and lot”, and in 1897 the trustees purchased an additional 88 sq. poles for $25 for use as a cemetery.

28)  Holy Trinity Lutheran Cemetery –  The land on which this cemetery was established was sold to L. G. Heilig by the heirs of David Harkey in 1856.  In 1878 Heilig sold to the Trustees of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church a one-acre tract for use as their cemetery.  According to tradition, Matthias Barrier, who died in 1873, was said to have been the first person buried in the cemetery.  If the tradition is true, the land was apparently already in use as a cemetery before it was sold to the church.

29)  McEachern House –  [The property on which this house is located and the Corzine property (#30 below) share a common history at several points, however, there are some transactions involving the two tracts that do not provide a clear deed path.]  This property was part of the fifty-one acre tract purchased by Mathias Barrier from Isaac Moose in 1853 (see #19 above).  It was inherited by Rufus Barrier, Mathias Barrier’s son.  Rufus Barrier died in 1876, and in 1878 his widow, Martha Anthony Barrier, sold the lot to John D. S. Barrier and his wife, Katherine Anthony Barrier, sister of Martha.  [The deed for this transaction described only one tract of land which totaled  85 sq. poles and was listed in later transactions as “Lot #2.]  It is not known if a house was built on Lot #2 at this time.  In 1898 John D. S. Barrier sold the property (both Lot #1 and Lot #2) to Mary J. Blackwelder Corzine. Mary Corzine died in 1901 and in 1911 David Corzine sold the property at public auction to Dr. Gurley Moose, son of A. W. Moose.  [Gurley Moose’s brother, Paul A. Moose, was married to Ethel Corzine, daughter of David and Mary Corzine.]  In 1915 the property (both Lots #1 & #2) was foreclosed and sold to A. W. Moose. [Traditionally a  house was said to have been constructed on this lot by David McEachern about 1920. David Ray McEachern did own the lot north of the property between 1916-1920, however, neither land or census records show any ownership of this property by a McEachern].  In April 1941, Walter Lee Moose, another son of A. W. Moose, purchased this property (Lot #2) from the estate of his parents.  Lee Moose was married to Mabel McAllister, grand-daughter of H. C. McAllister, who had lived nearby.  From the late 1940’s until his death in 1980, R. Brown McAllister, brother of Mabel Moose, occupied this residence.  Walter Moose died in 1981and Mabel Moose died in 1982.  In 1982, Gerald Hester purchased the property from the heirs of Mabel Moose.  Hester sold the house to Coy McManus in 1986 and McManus sold it to Richard Patterson in 1987.  The house was once again foreclosed in 1994, and in 1995 it was purchased by Anne Honeycutt Spence, the widow of Hubert Spence.  Anne and Hubert Spence extensively renovated and remodeled the house before Anne’s death in 2012.  The house was inherited by Anne’s daughter, Gail Spence Simpson and her husband Mike Simpson.  Currently the house is occupied by Justin Simpson, son of Mike and Gail Simpson.  The address is 1400 N. Main St.

30)  Corzine House (“Love in the Cottage”) – [See #29 above for description of this property prior to 1898.]  At some point prior to 1898, John D. S. Barrier acquired this tract of land totaling ½ acre which was adjacent to and directly south of  “Lot #2” and this lot was designated “Lot #1” in later transactions. Barrier built a house on the property, and in 1898 he sold the property  (both Lot #1 and Lot #2) to Mary J. Blackwelder Corzine. Mary was the daughter of Robert B. Blackwelder and the wife of David W. Corzine. The Corzine’s occupied the house on Lot #1 between 1898 and 1911 and it was also used as a boarding house for NC College and MPCI students.  Mary Corzine died in 1901 and in 1911 David Corzine sold the property at public auction to Dr. Gurley Moose, son of A. W. Moose.  [Gurley Moose’s brother, Paul A. Moose, was married to Ethel Corzine, daughter of David and Mary Corzine.]  [Traditionally MPCI Principal, G. F. McAllister, and Virginia Crabtree McAllister (see 28 above) occupied the house shortly after they were married in 1913 and it became known as “love in the cottage.”]  Upon his purchase of the property, Gurley Moose obtained a mortgage from L. E. Foil.  Moose died in 1913, and in 1915 the property (both Lots #1 & #2) was sold at auction and  sold to A. W. Moose, father of Gurley Moose. In January 1941, this property (Lot #1) was purchased from the estate of A. W. Moose by his daughter, Elaine Moose Wearn.  Elaine was married to George A. Wearn.  The Wearns never occupied the house on the property and during the late 1940’s and 50’s the house was occupied by a Tucker family before being demolished in the 1970’s.  Sometime before 1990 a new house was erected on the property.  In 1990, Elaine Wearn sold the property to James S. & Lana C. Mullins. In 1993 the house was sold to Thomas K. & Carol R. Hinson.  The Hinson’s divorced and Carol Hinson currently retains ownership of the property.  The address is 1408 N. Main St.

31)  Harkey/Barrier House –  In 1864 John M. Harkey purchased a 146 sq pole lot from Dr. John L. Henderson [CDB 42, p. 35] and built a residence at this location sometime after 1880.  In 1900, the property, which then totaled seven acres, was sold by the heirs of John M. Harkey to Daniel Dixon Barrier and his wife, Lula B. McAllister [CDB 57, p. 283]. D. D. Barrier died in 1940 and Lula died in 1954.  Mildred Barrier McDaniel, daughter of D. D. Barrier, and her husband, John H. McDaniel,  continued to live in the house. Mildred McDaniel died in 1957, and in 1958 the house was sold at auction to W. R. Arey, Jr.  In 1961 Arey sold one-half interest in the property to Elizabeth Honeycutt Culp, wife of Robert L. Culp.  In 1961 Arey and Culp sold the house to his sister, Opal Arey Petrea, and her husband, Paul O. Petrea.  In 1984 Opal and Paul sold the house to their daughter, Carolyn A. Petrea Cline and her husband, Theodore J. Cline.  In 2021 the property was sold to Fred and Susan Mills. The address is 1403 N. Main St.  [See Annotation  #123 & MP Deeds].

32)  Welsh/Webster House – The land on which this house stands was purchased in 1864 by Dr. J. L. Henderson from J. M. Harkey. (apparently a “trade” for the adjacent land that Henderson sold Harkey (see #31 above).  Henderson combined this lot with several others that he owned and sold a twelve acre tract to Dr. P. A. Barrier in 1875. Traditionally, Daniel Barrier was said to have built the present house in the 1880’s for his daughter, Mary Ella Barrier Welsh, however, Mary Barrier Welsh was residing in South Carolina in 1888 when she separated from her husband, Benjamin Welsh, and returned to Mt. Pleasant.  Daniel Barrier died in 1887 and Benjamin Welsh died in SC in 1890.  According to an article in the Concord Standard dated 15 Mar 1900, Ella Welsh was operating the Lentz Hotel which had just been sold by John Lentz to his son, L. A. Lentz.  The article stated further that Mrs. Welsh was planning to build a house on “a vacant lot north of the hotel.”  The lot on which this house was built was sold in 1900 by Dr. P. A. Barrier to the widow, Mary E. Welsh,. Ella continued to reside in the house with her children, two of whom were teachers.  Ella boarded students from MPCI in the house which was known locally as the “Welsh Barracks.”  In the 1900 census it was listed as a boarding house.  Ella died in 1932 and in 1937 her daughter, Emma Barrier Webster, purchased the house from the estate.  Emma was married to Roy Webster who was a teacher at MPCI and Mt. Pleasant High School. The house remained in the Welsh/Webster family until 1978 when it was sold to Scott Barringer.  Barringer remodeled and  renovated the house and continues to reside there.  The current address is 1409 N. Main St.

33)  J. B. McAllister House
The land on which this house stands was part of the fifty-one acre tract sold to Mathias Barrier by Isaac Moose in 1853  [see #15 above].  In 1902 John B. McAllister, son of H. C. McAllister, built his residence on this site. No deed was registered, but in 1907 H. C. McAllister sold a portion of the lot to John. The house remained in the McAllister family until  2007 when it was sold to Colonial Corporation, Inc.  In 2008 the house returned to the McAllister family when it was purchased by Robin A. McAllister, the great-great grand-daughter of H. C. McAllister.  Robin and her mother, Billie Cline McAllister, proceeded to live in the house. Following Billie’s death in 2017, Robin continued to live in the residence. The address is 1424 N. Main St.

34)  H. C. McAllister House  –  The land on which this house stands was part of the 51 acre tract sold to Mathias Barrier by Isaac Moose in 1853 [see #15 above], however, there is no deed track for this lot through to its purchase by H. C. McAllister.  Its original metes and bounds, or from whom it was purchased, are unknown. The only descriptions of the property were written after 1907 when H. C. McAllister sold a portion of the property to his son, J. B. McAllister (see # 33).  In 1917 the lot was described as the “home place of H. C. McAllister”. Tradition states that McAllister built the house in the 1870’s when he moved into the town from his “country home”  located just outside of Mt Pleasant. The house and property passed to McAllister’s widow after his death in 1914, and in 1918 it was inherited by the McAllister heirs. It is unclear who resided in the house in the 1920’s & ’30’s, and it appears to have been used as rental property for part of that time. In 1941 John B. McAllister, H. C. McAllister’s son, transferred the property to his son, George W. McAllister, and it remained as rental property in the McAllister family until sold to Veronica Blair Sanders in 2013.

35&36)  Henderson/Barrier House & Office –  According to an inventory of historic houses of the Mt. Pleasant, this house is the oldest residence in the town, built cir 1840 by Dr. J. L. Henderson. However, based on land and census records, if this house was built as early as 1840, it was by someone other than Dr. Henderson.  In 1850, Dr. John L. Henderson was residing in the household of Mathew Cook, whose residence was adjacent to the property on which this house was built. Dr. Henderson was a physician in Mt. Pleasant and did purchase several properties in and near the town, however, no record has yet been located stating from whom Dr. Henderson purchased this property or when he built the house.  Henderson was listed as occupying his own residence in Mt. Pleasant in 1860. Sometime around 1872, Henderson moved to Concord, and in 1875 he sold the house and a twelve acre tract of land to a former student, Dr. Paul A. Barrier. Dr. Barrier maintained a small office on the north side of the house and tradition states that when Dr. Barrier died in 1909, his wife, Mary Bangle Barrier, had his horse put to sleep and buried it, along with all of Dr. Barrier’s medical instruments and his carriage, in the back yard of the residence  [Sometime in the 1920’s Dr. Barrier’s Office was moved to a location on S. College St.].  The house was purchased by Luther Ritchie in 1914, and it remained in the Ritchie family until 1988 when it was sold to John P. Kennedy. Kennedy sold the house to Lorrie Fregosi in 1998.  In 2015, Fregosi sold the house to Kay Payne Beckett, the great grand-daughter of Luther Ritchie. In 2022, Beckett sold the house to the Town of Mt. Pleasant and it is currently being used as a residence by members of the Fire Department while the adjacent fire station is being renovated. The address is 1431 N. Main St.

37)  Matthew Cook House  –  It is unclear if Matthew Cook [See Annotation #42] built a house on this site or purchased it from his brother, Michael Cook.  In 1841, Michael Cook, soon to be Postmaster in Mt. Pleasant, purchased at auction a two acre lot and house on the Salisbury Rd. that matches the location of this house. The house and lot had previously belonged to Nathaniel Parham. Mathew Cook was in Mt. Pleasant by 1847, but there is no record of a sale of this land to Cook prior to 1850. It does appear, however, that he was living in a house on the property at the time of the census.  In 1851 Michael Cook sold all of his other land to Matthew (this property was not listed).  Mathew Cook died in 1894 and the house on the property was inherited by his children.  A subsequent sale of the house and land by the Mathew Cook heirs described it as a two acre tract located on the east side of N. Main St. (formerly the Salisbury Rd). In 1899, following a Superior Court judgement, the “homeplace” which included two acres of land, was ordered to be sold at public auction. The house was purchased by Mathew Cook’s daughters, Margaret Cook (married E. E. Wingard) and Sarah “Sallie” Cook Shuping and her husband, Jesse Shuping.  Jesse Shuping died in 1920, and his widow, Sallie, obtained a mortgage for her share of the house from her brother-in-law, John Hendrix, husband of  Emma Cook.  Hendrix took possession of Sallie Shuping’s share of the house following her death in 1927. When Hendrix died in 1930, his share of the house was retained by his children. In 1935, the Hendrix heirs and Margaret Cook Wingard’s executor, George W. Watts, sold the house and  property to Paul B. Foil.  Foil and L. C. Powlas of Rowan County opened a Funeral Parlor in one half of the house and maintained the other half as rental property.  Foil and Powlas also extensively renovated the house adding the existing columned front portico.  In 1946, Henry Penninger leased the house and property from Paul Foil, and he took over the Funeral Home business.  Around 1948 Penninger moved to a new location in Mt. Pleasant, and Foil retained the property as rental housing.  In 1958, Foil mortgaged the property to his brother-in-law, Dr. G. H. Faggert, of Savannah, GA.  Faggart was the husband of Foil’s sister, Ola. In 1960, with a release from the mortgage holder, Paul Foil sold the house to Carl R. Henley and his wife, Vernie Barrier Henley.  In 1981, Henley sold the house to John Fink.  In 1982, Fink sold the house to Kyle and Brenda Allen. The address is 1439 N. Main St.

38)  Misenheimer House – Old photographs of Mt. Pleasant show a large house located on N. Main Street directly north of the Lentz Hotel. The ownership of the land can be traced back to a James F. Litaker who sold a portion of the lot to W. R. Kindley in 1879. Kindley sold the land to C. A. Shankle in 1884.  Also in 1884 Kindley sold a portion of his lot to Lewis H. Rothrock, and in 1885, Rothrock purchased a portion of an adjacent lot belonging to John Lentz (owner of the Lentz Hotel).  Rothrock combined these lots into one tract and may have built his house on the property. In 1892 Rothrock, of Gold Hill, advertised in the Daily Concord Standard a house “opposite Dr. Barrier,” a four acre lot and house with six rooms, “with a passage above and below, an unfailing well, … a kitchen, smokehouse and other outbuildings. In 1898, Rothrock sold his property to John H. Foil (Cook & Foil).  In 1902 Foil sold the land to Mary R. Miller.  In 1910 Miller sold the land to James F. Misenheimer.  The 1910 census lists James F. Misenheimer and his wife, Martha Alice McAllister, living in the house.  James was the son of George Misenheimer and grandson of  J. J. Misenheimer.  Martha was the daughter of H. C. McAllister.  In 1912, Misenheimer sold the property to J. A. Harwood.  In 1914, Harwood sold the property to C. G. Lentz, son of L. A. Lentz, The house appears to have been demolished by the 1920’s when C. G. Lentz built a small bungalow house nearby. In 1959, Margaret Lentz Sisca, daughter of C. G. Lentz, inherited the property.  In 1979 Sisca sold the land to her sister-in-law, Louise Lentz, and Louise’s son, Joseph A. Lentz.  In 1980, Louise and Joe sold the land to the Town of Mt. Pleasant.  The lot, located at 1442 N. Main St., is currently utilized as a Town parking lot.

39) Lentz Hotel – Tradition states that William R. Scott went West during the California gold rush and returned to Mt. Pleasant a wealthy man. With his money he constructed a hotel on this site in 1853. In May 1861, Scott acquired a loan from Mt. Pleasant physician, Dr. John L. Henderson, to cover debts of $1,686.  As collateral for the loan, Scott assigned his property to Henderson.  After obtaining the loan, Scott joined the Confederate army where he eventually became an Officer in the 1st NC Cavalry Regiment. In 1863, Henderson, acting as “agent” for Scott sold the hotel property to John Lentz for $1,350 in Confederate money. Lentz was a Rowan County native who had married Sophia S. Heilig, the first cousin of wealthy Mt. Pleasant property owner, Lawson G. Heilig. Heilig was also a Rowan County native who lived only a short distance from the hotel. During the 1890’s the Lentz Hotel was one of the social centers of Mt. Pleasant.  In 1898 John Lentz sold the property to his son, Luther A. Lentz.  In appears that sometime around 1898, Ella Barrier Welsh may have purchased an interest in the hotel which she was operating in 1900 (see #32 above). It appears that L. A. Lentz was residing in the hotel after 1901.  In 1911 the hotel had its upstairs rooms converted for use by the students of Mont Ameona Seminary after their school burned (see #81 below). L. A. Lentz died in 1918, and his son, Charles G. Lentz, resided in the hotel and operated it as a boarding house.  In 1927 the Hotel, designated Lot #13 in the L. A. Lentz estate, was sold, along with Lots #10, #11, #12, #14, and #15, to John G. Parks and George E. Kestler of Concord.  George Kestler was a newspaper owner and publisher, and Postmaster in Concord.  He was the Chairman of the Concord Board of Commissioners in 1914. John Parks was a textile mill owner and also owned three Belk’s Department Stores in Concord, Kannapolis and Albemarle.  Kestler and Parks converted the hotel into rental property.  In 1937, Parks sold his interest in the property to Kestler.  Kestler died in 1939, and in 1941 the heirs of the estate sold the hotel along with Lots #14 & #15 to Hoy Moose. Moose maintained the hotel as rental housing.  After the 1960’s the building was abandoned and fell in to disrepair.  In 1972, Hoy Moose sold the property, including the hotel building, to the Mt. Pleasant Insurance Agency. In 1982, as the building was being slated for demolition, it was purchased by the NC Historic Preservation fund and then sold to Mr. Dennis Cudd and Mr. George Brown, who had the building moved to a site on College St. near the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society Museum (MPCI) and restored it. In 1985 the house was sold to James and Jeanette Hayden.  In 1999 the Haydens sold the house to Sam and Resa Treadaway.  In 2016 the Treadaways sold the house to Dora K. Stotz.  Ms. Stotz died in 2022 and the house is currently maintained by her son. The current address is 1120 N. College St.

40) Bangle Hotel –  On 27 Dec 1875 Cary Bangle, wife of Daniel Bangle, purchased a 106 sq pole lot in Mt. Pleasant from Alexander Foil, and with her husband built a hotel on the site. The hotel was seriously damaged by fire in 1901 and in March 1902 the building was advertised for sale by auction but was apparently not sold. The “Bangle House” reopened in 1902 and continued to be operated by members of the Bangle family until 1906 when it was purchased by Jonas Cook and L. J. Foil (Cook & Foil).  Between 1906 and 1912, Charles G. “Chulie” Lentz operated a restaurant on a portion of the property and there was also a meat market on the property.  In 1917, the heirs of the Jonas Cook estate sold their half-interest in the property to L. J. Foil.  The property was retained in the Foil family until February 1933, when a judgement was executed against Harry E. Foil, L. J. Foil’s son. The property was sold to George H. Nussman, Foil’s brother-in-law. Six months later, in August 1933, Nussman sold a portion of the lot to the Concord Telephone Company and ½ interest in the remaining property to his sister, Nina Nussman Foil, the wife of Harry Foil. The property remained in the Foil family until 1961 when Nina Foil sold her portion of the property to the Concord Telephone Company.  In 1972, Franklin W. Foil sold his portion to CTC. The property is now owned by CSL North Carolina System LP.  The address in 1447 N. Main St. The portion of the property sold to CTC in 1933 was sold by CTC to A. W. Stakely in 1987.  In 2003 the Stakely Family Partnership sold the property to Brent Cloninger. In 2016 the property was purchased by Ashley and Brandon Starnes.  It is currently owned by ATS Real Estate and is the site of Miracle Hair Salon. The address is 1453 N. Main St.

41) Lentz Building (Barrier’s Grocery Store/Charlie’s Goodie Garden/MP Pressing Club)
Land records for this property are difficult to trace.  It appears to be part of the “hotel lot” sold to John Lentz in 1863 by W. R. Scott (see 39 above).  Lentz sold this land to his son, L. A. Lentz in 1898. Before 1900, a portion of this building was the site of a grocery store owned by  D. F. Barrier.  A 1902 Sanborne Insurance map shows a grocery store and a detached millinery Shop on the site.  The separate structures on the site were all demolished and the current brick/plaster faced building was constructed.  A 1911 map shows three businesses attached as a Cafe had been added between the grocery store and a clock shop. (The millinery shop was not listed.)  Tradition states that between 1911 and 1914, L. A. Lentz and his son, C. G. Lentz, completed a major renovation to the previously wooden structures on the site.  A 1921 map shows a greatly expanded building occupied by a telephone exchange, a restaurant, and a grocery store. The best known business to operate on this site was Charlie’s Goodie Garden which was owned and operated by Charles G. Lentz.  This business was a local gathering place for children and young adults in Mt. Pleasant.  A newspaper article from the Kannapolis Daily Independent written in 1954 stated that the Goodie Garden operated in the building from 1912 to 1931.  Several businesses and local community organizations  occupied the building.  In 1914, the Mt. Pleasant Civic League held it meeting in the building. In 1915, Holy Trinity Lutheran Church held a “bazaar” in the building, and also in 1915, D. F. Peach operated a photography study on the first floor, while C. H. Fisher operated a shoe repair shop on the second floor called “Foot & Heel Surgery,”  In 1925, a laundry, the MP Pressing Club, operated by an African-American, Berry Heilig, was located on the second floor.   In 1927 the Lentz Building, designated  Lots #10, #11, #12 in the L. A. Lentz estate, were sold to John G. Parks and George E. Kestler of Concord (see #39 above).  In 1941, the heirs of the estate sold a portion of the building to Hoy Moose, and in 1942 the remaining portion was sold to the Town of Mt. Pleasant.  From the 1940’s through the early mid-1970’s the building housed the Town of Mt. Pleasant Municipal Offices and the Fire Department.  The Cabarrus County Sheriff’s Office also maintained an office on the site in the 1970’s.  The upstairs portion of the building saw various uses including a meeting place for the local Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts. In 1979 Hoy Moose sold his interest in the building to the Mt. Pleasant Insurance Agency and in 1999 the Town sold its interest to the Insurance Agency.  In 2010 the building was sold to Anthony Lowder and Paul Childress.  In 2018 the building was purchased by Dobson Properties and Allan James and was completely rennovated and enlarged.  Today it is owned by Town Square Properties, LLC and contains a coffee shop (Cafe Lentz), a bakery, an insurance office, and several other businesses.  The address is 1452-1462 N. Main St..

42)  Town Well – Various maps of Mt. Pleasant, photographs and surveys done in the area show that a public well was located on N. Main St. beside Heilig’s store (see #49).  This well and probably a second one on W. Franklin St. (see #65 below), are mentioned numerous times in the MP Town Board Minutes.

43)  Laundry/Grocery – This property appears to have been part of the Bangle Hotel tract (see #40 above) that was owned by the Foil family. The buildings on the site were divided into several different businesses. In 1932 the building, part of which at that time contained a laundry operated by George W. McAllister, and shoe shop, was severely damaged by fire. Other businesses included a Meat Market operated by C. E. G. Fisher and Harvey J. McAllister.  In 1940, Lee E. Foil sold the property to the Town of Mt. Pleasant, and in 1943 the Town of MP sold it to George W. McAllister. In 1946, G. W. McAllister sold a portion of the building to Marvin Kirk who opened took over the dry cleaners. The adjacent portion was sold to Lawson A. Foil in 1946 by the Mt. Pleasant Hosiery Mill. In 1952, Foil sold a portion of the property to Earl and Ola Eagle Allman.  A furniture store was located on this part of the property in the 1950’s along with the Mt. Pleasant Post Office. In 1968, Ola Allman sold the property to her son, Steve Allman.  In 1974, Allman sold the property to Richard Studdart, who, in 1976, sold it to Leroy Blair. The combined property has changed ownership several times since 1976 and several more businesses have occupied the site. The property is currently owned by Uno Mas Property, LLC, dba as Mt. Pleasant Trading Company. The addresses are 1463-1467 N. Main St.

44)  Stables  Old records held by the Eastern Cabarrus Historical Society indicate that a  stable may have existed near the Shimpock/Melchor store (see #50 below) as early as the1850’s as ledgers from the store contain charges for boarding of horses.  Based on other existing records there were several livery stables operating in Mt. Pleasant at different times in the early 1900’s.  In 1900 L. E. Heilig applied for a permit to build a stable on his father’s property behind the old Shimpock/Melchor Store.  This may have replaced an older stable once located there, it appears that the actual business was operated by J. F. Lowder, James Fisher and R. G. Johnson, who, in 1900 were listed as partners in a livery business in MP.  Insurance maps of Mt. Pleasant in 1902 show a large livery stable located between the old store and the L. G. Heilig house on E. Franklin St.  A 1905 article in the Concord Times listed two livery stables in MP.  One recently purchased from J. F. Lowder by C . T. Fisher and a second stable operated by L. E. Lipe  & James Fisher. At the time of the article Lipe had just sold his share to Guillon Blackwelder.  This stable appears to have been  located on W. Franklin St. west of the Cook & Foil Store.  In 1907 J. F. Lowder purchased his livery business back from C. T. Fisher.  A 1911 insurance map shows two livery stables located in the main “business district.”  One stable was still located behind the Shimpock/Melchor store, and a second stable was located on W. Franklin St. in a former warehouse purchased by A. M. Nussman in 1899.  A 1914 newspaper article stated that Frank Lowder had recently purchased the livery business of Joe Green and it was now the only such business in MP.  In 1921 the stable on E. Franklin St. was still listed but the W. Franklin location was now listed as a garage.    

45)  Kindley Mill –  While Kindley Cotton Mill was incorporated in 1896, it appears from the minutes of the Town Board that William R. Kindley first introduced a cotton gin to Mt. Pleasant around 1886 when he agreed to move the machinery from the Town Limits and place it on this site. The initial group of investors in Kindley Cotton Mill in 1896 included several past, present and future members of the MP Town Board.  They were W. R. Kindley, Rev. Paul Barringer, L. J. Foil, A. W. Moose, L. E. Heilig, James L. Peck, and A. W. Kindley.  In 1900, the Mt. Pleasant Town Board voted to petition the Legislature to allow the Town to expand its boundaries in order annex the Kindley Cotton Mill.  On 2 Oct 1911 W. R. Kindley purchased full ownership of the Mill from the stockholders for $19,458. On 16 Oct 1911, he sold a one-fifth interest in the Mill (for $4,000) to his son, John S. Kindley .  In 1912 W. R. Kindley transferred his four-fifths ownership of he mill to his son, W. A. Kindley. The mill continued to operate under W. A. and John S. Kindley until 1920 when W. A sold two-fifths of his shares to A. N. James.  In 1920-21 all of the owners sold their shares of the Mill to C. A. McCanless of Halifax VA, and in 1921 it became part of Halifax Mills, Inc. The mill continued, however, to operate  under the name Kindley Cotton Mill.  In 1925, Augustus N. James, the former Superintendent of the mill under W. R. Kindley, and a former part-owner, purchased the entire  property and took over its operation. The James family [See Annotation #163] managed the mill into the 1960’s. The Mill closed in 1970’s and several businesses have used the buildings over the past 40 years . The property is currently owned by Carter-James Properties, LLC.  The address is 400 N. Halifax St.

46)  Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church – The Mt. Pleasant Methodist Church was the first church built in Mt. Pleasant.  The original deed for the land upon which the church stands actually predates the Town by at least 23 years.  Cabarrus deed books recordthe purchase of a ¼ acre lot by Michael Shimpock and Trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church from Daniel Walker on land bordered by Christopher Rinehardt.  (Rinehardt had sold this land to Daniel Walker in 1833).  This lot is shown on an 1850 survey of land sold by Walker to Isaac Moose in the approximate location of the present church.  It is not known if a sancutary was built on this lot, but a history of the church states that in 1847 and 1848 two additional adjacent lots were purchased (one acre from Jacob Ludwig and 108 sq poles from Isaac Moose) and that a wooden church (#3) was built on this property in the 1850’s.  Church #4 “the old brick church” (the photograph) was built in 1885 on the site of the present church which was constructed in 1949. A parsonage, built in the 1870’s, was located nearby and was demolished in 1954.  A large addition was made to the original sancutary in the 1990’s, and additional land was purchase across College St. The church is located at the intersection of W. Franklin & N. College Streets.

47)  Skeen & Eudy Blacksmith Shop –  Jesse Skeen and J. H. W. Eudy, and later Skeen and M. C. Rinehardt, owned and operated a blacksmith shop on W. Franklin St. in the 1870’s. Tradition has located the shop at the site of the Barringer filling station described in #47 above, however, insurance maps from 1902 show the blacksmith shop located further west on the street.  In 1902 Whit Dry purchased the Skeen blacksmith shop at public auction for $251.05.  There is not a record of a deed for this transcation so the auction may have been for the contents of the shop itself.  A 1927 survey shows the blacksmith shop located on what was Lot #7 of the L. A Lentz Estate. A newspaper article in the Kannapolis Daily Independent written in 1954 stated that about 1936, Charles G. Lentz, son of L. A. Lentz, re-opened his store called Charlie’s Goody Garden on this site which had previously been a candy store operated by Billy Werkheiser.  In 1944, pursuant to a Special Proceeding of the Superior Court of Cabarrus County, Russell B. Lentz, son of L. A. Lentz, purchased the property which included Lots 1-7 of the estate. Over the next several years the lots were re-platted and several businesses were located there, including Chulie’s Goody Garden and Carl Eagle’s Grocery.  In 1959, Charles G. Lentz sold the property to his brother, John Luther Lentz.  In 1964 J. L. Lentz sold the land to E. B. Folkes.  In 1972, Folkes sold the property to Marvin Bost and his wife, Jane Eudy Bost. The site of the former Blacksmith Shop is now occupied by The Dance Trap and The Mt. Pleasant Smokehouse.  The address is  8335 & 8345 W. Franklin St.

48)  Barringer’s Restaurant/Filling Station/Taxi Stand & House – A photograph of this property from the 1950’s show a house on the lot, and an inventory of historic homes conducted in Mt. Pleasant in the 1960’s lists a house on this site built in 1910, however, no structure is shown on insurance maps in 1911 and 1921, nor is a house listed on the 1927 estate file of L. A. Lentz who owned the land at that time. In 1924 L. H. Barringer bought a lot on this site from C. G. Heilig in 1924 and in 1927 he purchased an adjacent lot from the Lentz estate (Lots #8 & #9). Barringer sold the lots to Margaret A. Barringer in 1931. (Margaret Barringer was the third wife and widow of Rev. Paul Barringer, the father of L. H. Barringer with his second wife.)  Margaret Barringer sold the lots back to L. H. Barringer in 1934, and Barringer combined the lots and proceeded to construct a “filling station,” taxi stand and restaurant on the property.  Barringer conveyed the property to his daughter, Cheryl Barringer Heintz, in 1972.  Cheryl Heintz sold the property to Maura Eberhardt in 1978 and Eberhardt operated a Tax Service from the building. The property is currently owned by Dennis  & Carol Hall who operate a Chiropractic Clinic from the building. The address is 8355 W. Franklin St.

49)  Heilig’s Store  – The site of this building may have been the site of the Post Office in the village of Mt. Comfort after John O. Wallace, Postmaster from 1836-1842, purchased the land from Jacob Williams in 1836. Wallace sold the land to Michael Cook, brother of Mathew Cook who became the Postmaster in  1842.  An 1850 survey shows the site occupied by the “Cook & Ludewick Hardware Store.”  In 1851 Michael Cook sold the land on which the store was located to his brother, Mathew Cook.  Mathew Cook, and later his son, Jonas Cook, operated a general store on the site until 1876, when Jonas and Lawson J. Foil opened Cook & Foil’s Store across W. Franklin St. from the old store. The old building then became a warehouse. In 1899 James P. Cook, another son of Mathew Cook, purchased the building from his father’s estate.  In 1902, Clarence  G. Heilig, son of Lawson G. Heilig, purchased the property from James P. Cook and sometime before 1908, Heilig built a brick structure (see photo to right) and operated a general store until 1936 when he sold it to his son, C. G. “Gib” Heilig, Jr. Gib Heilig later sold it to Herman “Ginger” Watts & Marvin Kirk. The building was demolished in 1958 and a city park was erected on the site. 

50) Shimpock-Melchor Store/The Merchantile –  The land on which this building stands was sold to General Paul Barringer in 1833 by Christopher Rinehardt.  In 1845 the administrators of Paul Barringer’s estate, Rufus Barringer and Daniel M. Barringer, sold Barringer’s interest in the property to John Shimpock and Christopher Melchor. Based upon the wording of the deed for this sale and on ledgers at the Eastern Historic Society Library, John Shimpock may have been operating a store at the site as early as 1833. Sometime between 1845 and 1850, Shimpock and Melchor constructed/or rebuilt a building on the property and expanded it to include a boarding stable and dining area.  In June 1847, Monroe Melchor, son of Christopher Melchor, was appointed Postmaster and it was at this time that the village of Walker’s Store/Mt. Comfort became officially known as Mt. Pleasant.  It is very likely that the first “Mt. Pleasant” Post Office was in the Shimpock-Melchor Store.  In 1857, Monroe Melchor sold to L. G. Heilig his ½ acre interest “in the remainder of the two acre tract” containing the store.  Heilig was married to Mary Ann Shimpock, daughter of John Shimpock, and it appears that he already owned a portion of the property, probably through his wife.   L. G. Heilig died in 1889 and Lawson E. Heilig obtained ownership of the store site, which was operated by Lawson and his brother, C. G. Heilig. It appears from some records that the old store was not in operation as of 1906  and in 1907,  L. E. Heilig announced that he was going to build a “modern” three story buildind on the site.  However, Heilig died in 1910 and the new building was not constructed. Catherine Kindley Heilig, retained ownership of the property.  In 1911, John B. McAllister & Edward Crowell purchased the property and proceeded to demolish the old store and build what became the Merchantile General Store. The Mt. Pleasant Mercantile Co. was chartered and capitalized at $50,000 in Jan 1912.  Stock holders included, McAllister, Crowell, Alonzo Blackwelder, Zeb J. Eudy and A. N. James. The building also housed the office of Dr. Patterson, a local dentist.  J. B. McAllister was the Postmaster in Mt. Pleasant from 1914-1921, and, for at least a portion of this time, the Post Office was located in the store. In 1913, McAllister & Crowell obtained a mortgage on the property in the amount of $2,000, but it appears the business was having financial trouble. In Sep 1915 McAllister purchased the non-real estate assets of the Merchantile Company, and in December he and Crowell sold a one-third interest to Winona Shirey, wife Luther Shirey and sister of Jonas Cook.  The business must have continued to suffer, as in 1917 the deed to the property was surrendered to the mortgage holder, and it was sold at public auction to Lawson J. Foil and his sons, Frank W. Foil and Lee E. Foil.  L. J.  Foil died in 1920 but his estate retained ownership of the property.  A 1921 Insurance map shows a Furniture Store located on the site.  In 1932, Lee Foil and his cousin, Paul B. Foil, purchased the building from the estate and opened the Mt. Pleasant Hosiery Mill on the site. In 1958 the Mill was sold to Olin “Doc” Leatherman of Concord.  In 1992, Margaret Leatherman, widow of Doc Leatherman, sold the property to Robert “Robin” Hayes, grandson of Charles A. Cannon.  The Hosiery Mill closed in  2008, and in 2016 Robin Hayes (MPHP Properties) “gifted” the property to the Town of Mt. Pleasant.  In 2017 the Town of Mt. Pleasant sold the property to Mt. Pleasant Properties, LLC for $50,000.  Mt. Pleasant Properties proceeded to renovate and enlarge the building, and in 2018 opened a restaurant, 73 & Main, on the site.  The building is on the National Register of Historic Places.

51)  Heilig-Foil House – The land on which this house is located was part of a 19.99 acre tract sold to John Scott in 1835 by Christopher Rinehardt. In 1836, John Scott sold an 88 sq pole portion of the tract to his son, George Wilson Scott. G. W. Scott was also the son-in-law of Christopher Rinehardt.  John Scott died in 1837 and G. W. Scott apparently obtained a larger portion of the property.  G. W. Scott moved to Arkansas sometime before 1845 when he sold a five acre tract which included this property to Charles A. Misenheimer, the owner of a store nearby (see #67 below).  C. A. Misenheimer died in 1847 and his land was sold in 1855 (his estate file did not list a buyer and no deed has been located).  By 1858 Lawson G. Heilig was the owner of the property when he built a home (the photo above) on a portion of the land on the Fayetteville Rd. east of the Shimpock/Melchor store that he also owned. Heilig died in 1889 and bequeathed the use of the house to his widowed daughter, Lizzie Betts.  L. G. Heilig’s son, L. E. Heilig, purchased the house from the other heirs in 1897, and in 1898 he sold a four acre tract known as the “Heilig Homestead” to Lawson J. Foil.  L. J. Foil died in 1920 and his sons, Lee E. Foil and Harry E. Foil, sold their portion of the estate to their brother, Fred W. Foil. Fred Foil died in Dec 1920, and in 1921, Lee Foil obtained full ownership of the property. L. E. Foil extensively remodeled and enlarged the home in the 1920’s, adding the doric columns which are still in place (see photo to the right).  L. E. Foil died in 1946 and the property was divided between his two children, Lawson A. “Son” Foil, and Mary Evans Foil Barringer, wife of Dr. A. L. Barringer.  A. L. Barringer and Mary E. Foil Barringer obtained full ownership of the property in 1954 and resided in the house.  In 1971, the residence was sold to Sam Colerider, III who passed away in 2023.  The current address is 8425 E. Franklin St.

52)  A. W. Moose House – The land on which this house is located was part of the tract of the two acre tract that L. G. Heilig purchased or inherited through his wife after 1854 (see #50 & #51 above). In 1885, Archibald W. Moose, a local pharmacist, purchased a half-acre tract of land on this site from L. G. Heilig for $475.  The tract contained the remains of an old slave cabin owned by the Heilig family.  Around this structure A. W. Moose built his residence.  A. W. Moose died in 1928 and his son, Hoy A. Moose, obtained the property from his siblings.  In 1946 Hoy sold the land to his niece, Rebecca Moose McCarn, and her husband, Lester W. McCarn. Rebecca McCarn sold the property to Troy Barnhardt in 2000. Barnhart extensively remodeled the house and opened The Franklin St. Bed and Breakfast. Barnhardt was killed in a traffic accident in 2020 and his widow, Lila Keen Barnhardt, sold the property to Matthew Ryan Branham and Brandi Nicole Koehl. The current address is 8501 E. Franklin St.

53)  C. G. Heilig House –  In 1887, Clarence G. Heilig, purchased from his father, L. G. Heilig, a small tract of land at this site on which C. G. built his residence.  After C. G.’s death in 1941, the residence was occupied by his daughters, Bessie & Lillian Heilig.  The house was demolished in the 1970’s.

54)  Boger House – In 1905, Rowan Burleyson purchased the house on this property from John Albert Ritchie and his wife, Ollie Coleman Ritchie.  Ollie was the grand-daughter of Henry Bangle.  Burleyson defaulted on his mortgage and later in 1905, James Franklin Lowder purchased the house and lot at public auction.  Lowder owned a Livery Stable in MP located behind the Merchantile.  In 1912, Lowder sold the property to George A. Boger. Boger died in 1931 and the property was sold at public auction to Roy W. Earnhardt.  In 1939 Earnhardt sold the house to Gatha Barrier Rowland, ex-wife of Martin Rowland.  Gatha Rowland was the daughter of H. D. Barrier and Eliz Jane Bost Barrier.  Gatha died in 1960 and the house was inherited by her siblings, Clara Barrier Barringer, Dora Barrier Shoe, and John Homer Barrier.  In 1912, J. Homer Barrier purchased the house from his siblings. In 1985, J. H. Barrier sold the property to his neice, Helen Barringer Hahn, wife of Fred W. Hahn, and her daughter, Patsy Hahn Moser, wife of James N. Moser.  The property has changed owners several times since 1985 and is currently owned by Bernie H. Edwards.  The address is 8563 E. Franklin St.

55)  Mt. Pleasant Methodist Cemetery – The land on which the Methodist Cemetery is located was purchased by Jacob Ludwig from Paul Rinehardt in 1847. It had previously belonged to Paul’s father, Christopher Rinehardt.  Later in the same year, Jacob Ludwig sold  a one acre lot to the Methodist Church on which the cemetery was  located (See #46 above). The cemetery is the oldest in Mt. Pleasant, and the burial site of many of the persons mentioned in these Town Board Minutes.

56 & 57) L. R. Rose House & Office –  The information concerning the date of the construction and first ownership of this house is unclear.  The house is a virtual “twin” to the Ludwig House (#70 below) that was built sometime between 1855-1860.  Dr. Littleberry Rowan Rose moved to Mt. Pleasant about 1857 to practice medicine with Dr. P. J. A. Haines, and he married Martha Jane Barrier in 1858.  Martha died only one month after her wedding, and in 1860 Dr. Rose was a widower residing with John A. Barrier in Mt. Pleasant. Dr. Rose served in the Civil War and returned to Mt. Pleasant and married Clara Sophia Ridenhour in 1866.  Dr. Rose purchased this property around 1868. There  is no deed of record, but it was described in a deed of trust (mortgage loan) that Rose obtained from W. R. Kindley in 1886. Dr. Rose maintained an office in a small structure near the house. The house was later occupied by Dr. Rose’s daughter, Aurelia, and her husband, William J. Moose, and by Aurelia’s daughter, Faye, and her husband, Herman “Ginger” Watts. In 1995, Faye Watts sold the house to her daughter, Aurelia Watts, and her husband, Bernie Edwards. In 1997, Aurelia and Bernie Edwards sold the house to their son, Bernie Edwards, Jr. and his wife, Catherine Follas, who remodeled and restored it. The current address is 8310 W. Franklin St.

58)  Eudy/Beaver House – The information about this house is unclear. Tradition states that William M. Eudy built a house on this site about 1858, however, he was not living in Mt. Pleasant in 1860. It is more likely that Eudy’s son, Jacob H. W. Eudy may have lived in the house.  Eudy was part-owner with his father-in-law, Jesse Skeen, of a blacksmith shop located across the street from the house. Eudy and Skeen were living next to each other on W. Franklin St. in 1880. The house was later owned by John D. Beaver and finally by Crawford James, brother of A. N. JamesThe house was demolished in the 1960’s.

59)  A. M. Nussman House – In 1884, H. C. McAllister sold this property to Lawson J. Foil.  In 1898, Foil sold the property to A. M. Nussman who built/or remodeled a residence on the lot.  A. M. Nussman died in 1934.  In 1938, the Nussman heirs sold a portion of the lot (east side) to Lawson H. Barringer who owned the adjacent Barringer Company (see #62 below).  In May of 1955, the heirs sold the house and the remaining property to John T. Barringer, son of Martin C. Barringer. In June 1955, J. T. Barringer sold the property to L. H. Barringer, who, on 21 Nov 1955, sold the house to the Trustees of St. James United Church of Christ. of which he was a member.  On 22 Nov 1955, the St. James Trustees sold the property to J. Forrest Moose and his sister, Lydia Moose Lentz, wife of Bobby Lentz. (J. F. Moose was a cousin of Hoy Moose, owner of Moose Drug Store.) The house on the property was demolished in the 1960’s, and in 1973, Mary K. Moose, widow of J. F. Moose, and her daughter, Lydia Moose Boger, sold the property to Marvin Bost and his wife, Jane Moose Eudy.  Jane Eudy Bost was the grand-daughter of J. H. W. who lived in the house on the adjacent property (see #58 above).  Bost opened a restaurant, “What-A-Burger #13,” on the property.  In 2008, Marvin and Jane Bost transferred ownership of the property to their son, Zeb Bost, the current owner.  The address is 8330 W. Franklin St.

60)  Library – Some local maps and records state that for a short period of time in the early 1900’s, the Town maintained a small library in a building next to the A. M. Nussman home. Between 1936-1938 the Town Library was located in the old Nussman Store which also served as the “clubhouse” for the MP Women’s Club.

61) Town Privy – Local tradition and town records relate that in 1901 a public privy (outhouse) was located off of W. Franklin St. behind what was at the time the A. M. Nussman residence.  The privy was a screened from view from Franklin St. by a fence and rent was paid by the town to Mr. Nussman for a public right of way to the facilities. This property was purchased by J. T. Barringer in 1955 and included in a sub-division developed into the Barringer Heights.
Town Calaboose – Local tradition and town records relate that the town maintained a local jail on property owned by A. M. Nussman on W. Franklin St.  Older town citizens stated  that the “calaboose” was used mostly to allow intoxicated individuals a chance to “sleep it off” after a night on the town. Tradition also relates for at least some period of time the calaboose was actually a mobile jail cell that was moved from place to place within the Town and a fee was paid to the owner of the land where the unit was placed for the use of his land and for his services as “jailkeeper.”

62) Livery Stable/Barringer’s Garage/Barber Shop/etc.– It appears from early records that prior to 1899, this site was occupied by a warehouse used by the nearby Cook & Foil’s General Store. It may also have been utilized as a stable. In 1899 Adam Nussman purchased from Cook & Foil an old storehouse building between his home and Cook & Foil’s store (See #63 below) on W. Franklin St. Nussman proceeded to completely renovate the building, and in 1902 it was listed on insurance maps as a warehouse and an unattached shoe shop.  Newspaper articles state that in 1902 Nussman made additions to the warehouse and a barber shop was opened.  [The 1908 photo of Mt. Pleasant displayed on the opening page of this narrative shows an open bay structure flanked by several smaller structures to the east.]   By 1911 the old warehouse was listed as a livery stable operated by James Fisher and Guillon R. Blackwelder.  Additional structures built to the east contained a doctor’s office (Dr. M. A. Foil), and a millinery store/telephone exchange operated by Etta Skeen. There was also a barbershop operated by Zeb Cox, and a photo shop with a pool hall located above.  Some of these additions appear to have still been owned by Cook & Foil. In 1919, Rev. Paul Barringer purchased from A. M. Nussman a building and lot measuring 29 sq rods with the stipulation that Barringer be allowed to use the drainage ditch to the west of the building and that Nussman “does not sell the building, but is to remove the same,” and clean it away by 1 Jan 1920, but “is not to remove the front and two rooms including the rolling doors.”  In April 1920, Paul Barringer’s son, L. H. Barringer, erected a brick garage on the site of the old warehouse/stable and added brick facades to the remaining stores facing the street. An insurance map dated 1921 showed the doctor’s office still existed with a small portion designated as the Town Board meeting room. The millinery shop, barber shop and photo shop were still in operation, but the telephone office had moved to the Lentz building on N. Main St. A photo (cir 1922) shows a Texaco gasoline pump located in front of the garage and a wooden building still standing on its west side.  In 1922 the Post Office was moved to the storefront just east of the barbershop. In 1939 Barringer purchased from Paul A. Moose a 3,800 sq. foot space to the east of and adjoining his garage (above the former millinery shop and doctor’s office). Also in 1939 Martin C. Barringer purchased the barbershop from Lee E. Foil and Nina Foil, widow of Harry E. Foil. From 1939 through the 1950’s Barringer operated a Ford Car Dealership and garage from a portion of the building. The second floor former “pool hall” housed a “Pressing Club” (laundry). In 1963 Barringer sold the building to Edward S. Blackwelder who continued to maintain the garage portion of the building. In the 1960’s & 70’s the barber shop remained in operation, and the building housed a Teen Center called the “Brass Bottle.” In 1973, Blackwelder sold the building to Thomas H. Safrit and his wife, Hazel Rowland Safrit. In 1983, the Safrit’s sold the building to Allen Paul Barnhardt and David F. Barnhardt and his wife, Doris, who converted the space into an Antiques/Furniture Store.  Over the next 30 years the store fronts included a music store, a pet store, and a florist shop. The barber shop continues to operate today.  David Barnhardt died in 2010 and Doris died in 2012 and the “garage portion of the building is now owned by Old Piedmont Farms, Inc. from which “The Well Doctor,” a well installation company operates. The three small store fronts, including the barbershop, is owned by Town Square Properties, LLC. The current addresses are 8350 and 8342 W. Franklin St.

63) The Town Auditorium – The Mt. Pleasant Town Auditorium was constructed in 1904 beside and above Cook & Foil Hardware on W. Franklin Street.  The auditorium had a seating capacity of 600 and was the site of numerous theater performances, musical events, lectures, political rallies, and the graduation ceremonies for Mt. Pleasant Collegiate Institute and Mont Amoena Female Seminary. In 1905 it was furnished with “opera” chairs. The auditorium was destroyed by fire along with Moose Drug Store and Cook & Foil in 1928. It was never replaced.

 

64)  Cook & Foil Hardware – The land on which this store was located was sold to Daniel Walker by Christopher Rinehardt in 1831.  Walker opened a Tin Shop on the site and in 1833 he became the Postmaster for the small community that was designated as Walker’s Store. Walker remained Post Master until 1836. Though no deed exists, Walker appears to have sold his store by 1845.  In 1850 the site was occupied by a Tin Shop operated by Paul B. C. Smith and Mathias Barringer.  In 1876, Jonas Cook and Lawson J. Foil opened Cook and Foil’s General Merchandise Store on this site.  They were also part owners of the A. W. Moose Drug Company building.  A 1902 Sanborn Insurance map shows Cook & Foil’s connected (on the east side) to A. W. Moose Drug Co. (see #65 below).  The general merchandise store was the largest retail establishment in Mt. Pleasant, and by 1904 it had expanded to house the town auditorium on the second floor [See #64 below]. By 1908 a bank had been added to the west side of the auditorium.  In March 1912  L. J. Foil bought out his business partners, Jonas Cook and, Luther S. Shirey.  The business was re-organized still using the name Cook & Foil, and was owned L. J. Foil, and his two sons, Fred W. Foil and Harry E. Foil and L. J.’s brother, W. D. Foil. L. J. Foil died in October 1920, followed shortly by his son, Fred, in December.  L. J. Foil’s share of the business and property was inherited by L. J. Foil’s younger sons, Harry E. and Lee E. Foil.  In 1928 Cook & Foil’s, A. W. Moose Co., the Town Auditorium, and the Cabarrus Savings Bank were destroyed by fire, but the buildings were quickly rebuilt. In 1928 H. E. and L. E. Foil sold the Cook & Foil site to their uncle, Warren D. Foil, and the A. W. Moose site to the heirs of A. W. Moose.  In 1931 W. D. Foil sold the property to his son, Paul B. Foil. In 1964, P. B. Foil sold the property to Ralph Austin.  In 1982 Ralph Austin sold the property to Hoy A. Moose.  Today, the site is occupied by an expansion of A.W. Moose Drug Company and several smaller businesses.  The addresses are 8360-8374 W. Franklin St.

65) Town Well – According to Town tradition, Mt. Pleasant had at least two public wells.  One well has been documented in old surveys as being located on N. Main St. just north of the old Cook & Ludwig Store.  Information from other sources states that a second well was located on W. Franklin St. near the old Cook & Foil Store (near the current A. W. Moose Drug Company).

66)  A. W. Moose Drug Co. – A. W. Moose Drug Co. was founded in 1882 by Dr. John Wesley Moose and his brother, Archibald Walter Moose, and was initially located in H. C. McAllister’s store “in an old frame building next to Heilig’s store” (see #49).  The business moved to the old J. J. Misenheimer Store (see #67).  J. W.  Moose moved to Texas in 1889 and sold his share of the business to Augustus Dreher.  According to Hoy Moose, a brick building was built about 1890 at the current location adjacent to what was then Cook & Foil Store (see #63).   A. W. Moose died in May of 1928.  On July 2nd, 1928, only two months after A. W. Moose’s death, the store was destroyed by fire.  For a short time the business operated out of a building across the street, but by December, 1928 a new structure had been opened on the old site.  After 1928 the business was owned by A. W. Moose’s sons, Walter, Paul and Hoy Moose. Hoy & Paul Moose continued to operate the pharmacy which eventually passed to Whitaker Moose, Hoy’s son, who undertook an expansion of the building and the Moose Drug Company. Today the A. W. Moose Co. occupies, not only part of the old Cook & Foil/Foil Hardware site, but the company has expanded to several locations outside of Mt. Pleasant and is still owned and operated by descendants of A. W. Moose.   The current address is 8374 W. Franklin St.

67)  Kindley’s Store – The structure which once stood on this site (the southwest corner of the “town square”) was erected as a General Merchandise Store by William R. Kindley. It appears from existing records that Kindley may have purchased the land from J. J. Misenheimer in 1866. Kindley and his son-in-law, W. T. Tucker, operated the store in the early 1880’s.  Kindley did not sell the building, but in 1886, he and Tucker sold their goods to M. L. Buchanan, Daniel D Barrier, and L. M. Ritchie, who operated the store as Buchanan & Barrier for several years. It is not known when the first store was built, but local tradition states that the original building was demolished and a larger structure was constructed in the early 1900’s. Insurance maps for 1902, 1911 and 1921 all show a general store located on the property.  The store also served as the Mt. Pleasant Post Office, possibly dating to 1897 when W. R. Kindley was appointed for his second term as Postmaster.  In 1914 W. R. Kindley sold the store property to his son, William A. Kindley. After 1914, the store was operated by several different persons, including G. R. Blackwelder, John B. McAllister and Augustus James.  A portion of the store was also used as the Office of Dr. J. J. Bunn who married W. A. Kindley’s daughter, Lucille, in 1914. In 1946 Dr. Bunn and Lucille purchased the property from the heirs of William A. Kindley. In 1947, Dr. Bunn transferred partial ownership of the property to his daughter, Patsy, and her husband, Wade Johnson.  In 1959 Dr. Bunn and Johnson’s sold the store property to Gene Eagle.  In the mid-1960’s, Eagle demolished the old building and built a new grocery store “behind” the old location on land he had purchased from Paul B. Foil. The old location became a parking lot for the new store. In 2002, Gene Eagle sold the new store and the property, which included the old store location, to Steve Cochran who converted the new building to a restaurant.  In 2003 the property, including the restaurant, was purchased by Phil Howard. On 15 Dec 2022, Howard sold the property to Town Square Properties. Buddy’s Restaurant currently occupies the building.  The address is 1470 S. Main St.

68)  J. J. Misenheimer Store –  An 1850 survey map of Mt. Pleasant listed the building on this site as “Krimminger & Cox.”  However, actual ownership of the property in the 1840’s is unclear.  It appears from several deeds that the land was a portion of the property purchased by Paul Rinehardt from his father, Christopher Rinehardt, in April 1844.  In June 1846, Rinehardt sold an eighty-seven square pole lot to Charles A. Misenheimer and Martin Widenhouse. It appears that Misenheimer and Widenhouse built or opened a store of some type on the lot. C. A. Misenheimer was the Postmaster in Mt. Comfort (Mt. Pleasant) from 1844 until his death in 1847 and may have used his store as the local post office.  At the death of C. A. Misenheimer, his brother, J. J. Misenheimer, was the executor of his estate. There is not an estate record of the store lot changing hands, but it appears that by 1850, the business was being operated by Abner Krimminger and Charles P. Cox. In 1850 Krimminger was residing in Mt. Pleasant. He was listed as a merchant.  In addition to himself, his wife, and four children in the home, there were four boarders, Jacob Misenheimer clerk in store; Charles P. Cox, merchant; Nelson G. Taylor, apprenticed to trade, and P. J. A. Haines, physician.  Abner Krimminger died in 1855 and his “partner,” C. P. Cox took over operation of the business.  In 1856 M. W. Widenhouse sold his share of the property to J. J. Misenheimer. While there is no record of J. J. Misenheimer being deeded his brother’s share of the store lot (he had purchased adjacent lot in 1848), it appears that he retained some interest in the business. An article in the Concord Register in 1877 mentions the C. P. Cox store and reported that “Misenheimer & Cox, Co. are making constant additions to their stock. Sometime between 1884 and 1889, John and A. W. Moose opened their medical office/pharmacy in the store building.  It is not known if the general store was still in operation at this time.  The medical office remained in the building through 1889. J. J. Misenheimer died in October 1888, and his daughter, Cora, the wife of Moses L. Buchanan, inherited the store lot and an adjacent lot.  Cora and Moses built their residence on the adjacent lot and in 1891 sold a portion of this lot to the Patterson Masonic Lodge #307 where they built their meeting hall (see #70 below).  It is not known if the old store on the property was in operation between 1889 and 1902.  In 1901, Cora and Moses Buchanan sold the lot, then called the Misenheimer storehouse lot, to William R. Kindley. A 1902 Sanborn Insurance map shows a millinery shop located in the old store building. In 1908 Kindley sold to his son, John S. Kindley, a three-fourth’s interest the building and lot. The building may have been demolished shortly afterwards, as insurance maps for 1911 and 1921 show no structure on the site. In 1928, John S. Kindley sold the property to Manlius S. Lyles and his wife, Cornelia Ann Carpenter Lyles. In January 1930, Lyles leased the property to the Gulf Oil Company and a Service Station was opened on the site. In July 1930 Lyles sold one-half interest in the property to his brother-in-law, William Crawford Carpenter. In 1971, Annabellle Furr Carpenter, widow of William C. Carpenter, sold the property to Security Oil Company. Several persons have operated a gas station/service station/market over the years. Security Oil Company sold the lot and building to Pine Door, LLC in 2021. The address is 8416 E. Franklin St.

69)  W. R. Kindley House – On this site once stood the residence of William R. Kindley.  Old photographs show this residence as a large two story house with an upper and lower porch stretching the entire length of the house and fronted by a railing.  Land records are unclear as to when and from whom Kindley purchased the property and there is no information as to when Kindley erected the house, but he was a resident of Mt. Pleasant prior to the Town’s incorporation in 1859. In 1910, W. R. Kindley was residing in the house, but the census listed the head of household in the house as William Adam Kindley, W. R.’s son.  In 1914, W. R. Kindley sold the house to his grand-daughter, Daisy Lucille Kindley Bunn, wife of Dr. Justus J. Bunn, with the stipulation that Lucille and Dr. Bunn “furnish a proper and suitable house to aid and take care of and provide for the said W. R. Kindley …”   W. R. Kindley died in 1920, and in 1930, Dr. Bunn and his family were still residing in the house.  By 1940, it appears the house was unoccupied (or demolished).  In May 1949, Paul B. Foil obtained ownership of the property and erected a new building attached to the Paula Theater which he leased to Piedmont Bank & Trust Co.  In December 1949 Foil transferred ownership of this property to his daughter, Warren Irene Foil.  In 1961, Piedmont Bank purchased the property fromn the Foil family and sold it o Larry and Glenda Walter in 1976.  In 1984 Glenda Walter sold the property to Dennis Meyer, and in 1988 Larry and Glenda Walter the property to Dr. Michael Mock who opened a Dental Office in the building.  In 2021 the Mock Estate sold the building to Darin and Michele Burns who opened Michele Burns Esthetics, a spa and skin care business. The current address is 1476 S. Main St.

70) Masonic Hall –  The Patterson  Masonic Lodge # 307 was chartered on Dec. 7, 1870 in Mt  Pleasant.  In 1891 the Lodge purchased an 1890 sq. foot lot on South Main St. in Mt. Pleasant from M. L. Buchanan and Cora Mishenheimer Buchanan. The lot was adjacent to the Buchanan home  and directly “behind” a store on the town square which once belonged to J. J. Misenheimer, Cora M. Buchanan’s father.  Named in the deed were H. T. J. Ludwig, “Worshipful Master,”  James L. Lefler. “Senior  Warden,”  and Dr. P. A. Barrier, “Junior Warden.”   In 1892, Lodge #307 constructed a meeting hall on this site. The building was a two story structure with the second floor serving as the Masonic Meeting Hall and the first floor housing a store of some type.  Lodge #307 was incorporated in January 1893. The Patterson Lodge remained active until 1931 when it  merged with Stokes Lodge #32 in Concord, NC.  The Stokes Lodge retained possession of the hall until 1960 when it was sold to J. T. and Nan Barringer who had previously purchased the old Buchanan house next door (see #71 below).  In 1999 the hall, along with the rest of the Barringer property was sold to Christopher G. Herrin.  During the next 14 years the property changed ownership several times, and in May 2013 it was purchased by the Town of Mt. Pleasant.  Unable to find a buyer who would remove the hall from its site, the building was demolished in 2015. The building served many uses during the last 110 years, including a Hall for the Town Band, classrooms for Mont Amoena Seminary, a meeting hall for the MP Women’s Club, a Duke Power Company office, private apartments and various other businesses.

71)  Ludwig House – The land on which this house stands was part of an eighty-eight acre tract of land purchased by Jacob Ludwig and his wife, Sophia House Ludwig, from Paul Rinehardt in 1847.  Paul Rinehardt was the son of Christopher Rinehardt  and he inherited the property after his father died in 1845.  A tradition in the Rinehardt family states that the home of Christopher Rinehardt stood on this site and Rinehardt’s house may have been the “log house” in which the Ludwigs first lived after Jacob purchased the land.  Again, traditionally, the current house was erected by Jacob Ludwig “behind the old cabin” in the early 1850’s.  Jacob also maintained a shop/office beside (south of) the house where the current MP Post Office is located.  After Jacob Ludwig died in 1882, his son, H. T. J. Ludwig, [Annotation #35] took over responsibilities for the residence.  H. T. J. Ludwig died in 1900 but his mother and several of her children remained in the house until her death in 1921. In 1924, the Ludwig heirs sold the “shop/office” portion of the property to Martin C. Barringer.  In 1941 in a special proceeding entitled “H. E. Cline, Victor L. Petrea, and J. L. Cress, Board of Trustees of St. John’s Lutheran Church, and L. D. Miller, Pastor , ex-officio member of the BOT vs. Cabarrus and Trust Company, Trustee under the Will of Sidney T. J. Ludwig,” the Court appointed H. E. Cline as “Commissioner” to sell the property at public auction.  The property was sold to Paul B. Foil.  Foil maintained  the Ludwig house as rental property, and In 1947 he constructed a building containing a movie theater, cafe and office space on a vacant portion of lot.  Foil named the theater which opened in February 1948, after his nine year-old daughter, Paula.  In December Foil transferred ownership of the theater complex to his daughter.  The theater closed in 1954 but the cafe portion became a flower and gift ship, and the office space was rented by the Mt. Pleasant Insurance Agency.  In 1960 Paula Foil sold the property, including the house and the theater building, to John T. and Nan Barringer.  In 1972, the Barringers sold the property to Concord National Bank and the house was converted to commercial use.  Following a series of bank mergers, First Charter Bank sold the property (including the house and theater building) to the Foundation for the Carolinas.  In 2002, the house and property were sold to the Bank of Stanly which later became Uwharrie Bank.  In 2022 Uwharrie Bank sold the property to a group of investors incorporated as Town Square Properties.  Uwharrie Bank continues to occupy the house and the investors plan to restore theater complex at some later date. The present address is 1480 S. Main St.

72) Buchanan House –The land on which this house was built was inherited by Cora Misenheimer Buchanan in 1889.  Cora was the daughter of J. J. Misenheimer, and wife of Moses L. Buchanan.  Cora and M. L. erected their residence on the property between 1892 & 1897.  There is some evidence that the house was a “mail order” structure purchased from Sears and Roebuck.  In 1897 M. L. Buchanan sold the residence to Dr. C. H. Barnhardt, and Dr. Barnhardt resided there until his death in 1906. In 1917, the house was sold as per a special judgement involving the Barnhardt heirs to J. A. Harwood for $2000.  In 1944 J. A. Harwood sold the property to John T. & Nan Tucker Barringer. J. T. Barringer was the son of Martin C. Barringer and Essie Hahn. Nan Barringer built a Specialty Store beside the residence and maintained a business there in the 1950’s and ’60’s.   In 1999 the house was sold to Christopher G. Herrin.  During the next 14 years the property changed ownership several times and was occupied as rental property. In May 2013 the house was purchased by the Town of Mt. Pleasant, and in 2015 it was demolished.

73) Skeen House – Over a period of four years from 1871-1875, Jesse Skeen, a local blacksmith in Mt. Pleasant, purchased several lots on E. Franklin St. from four different owners, L. G. Heilig, J. M. Misenheimer, R. F. Earnhardt and J. J. Misenheimer.  Existing records do not make clear who was the former owner of the property on which this house was built, nor when Skeen erected his residence on the lot, but he was residing in MP in 1880.  Jesse Skeen died in 1910 and his wife, Sarah A. Montgomery Skeen, died in 1912. In 1914, the heirs sold the house and property to George Lawson Herrin, Sr.  George L Herrin, Jr. inherited the property in 1979, and in 1993, his son, Christopher G. Herrin, obtained the property.  The house on the site was demolished and the vacant lot is currently owned by CCB&L Properties, c/o Christopher Herrin.   The address is 8416 E. Franklin St.

74)  Jonas Herrin House –  The property on which this house stands was purchased by Jonas O. Herrin from the heirs of Jesse Skeen in 1914 (see #73 above).  In 1923, Herrin sold a portion of the property to William S. Hartsell (see #75 below).   In 1937, Herrin sold the property to Clarence G. Heilig , Jr.  In 1979, Heilig sold the house and lot to Danny and Margaret Lewis.  In 1989, the Lewis’ sold the property to Richard and Joycelyn Burleyson, the current owners. The current address is 8440 E. Franklin St.

75)  Hartsell House –  The property on which this house is located was purchased by William S. Hartsell from Jesse Skeen in 1896 (see #72 above).  William S. Hartsell operated a Tannery on E. Franklin St. and served on the MP Town Board.  William died in 1927 and his wife, Mary, died in 1933.  The house was inherited by heirs and eventually transferred to Dorothy Hartsell Utley, the daughter of Lewis Hartsell, William’s son.  In 1939 Dorothy sold the property to Bernard Morehead.  The house continues to be owned by the Morehead family.  The current address is 8500 E. Franklin St.

76) John W. Moose House –  This residence was erected by John W. Moose sometime after he purchased the property from his father, George Moose, in 1882.  Moose was a medical Doctor who, along with his brother, A. W. Moose, founded Moose Drug Company.  In 1887 John Moose sold the house back to his parents and moved to Texas by 1890. Dr. Moses’s father died in 1899 and his children gave the property to their mother, Hannah Moody Moose. Hannah died in 1911 and the house was passed to her son, A. W. Moose.  In 1919, A. W. Moose sold the house to Weldon T. Wall and his wife, Katherine Barringer Wall.  Katherine was the daughter of Rev. Paul Barringer and Alice Foil Barringer. In 1920, Wall sold the house to Ida Barringer Smith, widow of Willis B. Smith. Ida Smith was the daughter of Caleb E. Barringer and Dovie C. Fisher.  In 1941 Ida Smith transferred the house to her daughter Freida Smith Litaker and her husband, Franklin Brooks Litaker. Freida Litaker died in 1972, and Franklin married (2nd) Elsie Harrison.  Franklin died in 1992 and Elsie died in 2005 and the house was inherited by Franklin’s sons.  In 2007, Charles and John Litaker sold the house to Timothy and Lena Troutman, who currently own the property.   The address is 8534 E. Franklin St.

77)  Mt. Pleasant Milling Co. – Mt. Pleasant Milling Co. previously located on E. Franklin St. was begun by John H. and Lawson J. Foil and this structure was erected about 1908.  The land on which the mill was built was purchased in 1872 by Hezekiah McNamar from Lawson G. Heilig. McNamar appears to have built some type of mill on the property, but in 1899 McNamar sold the property to Washington W. Dry.  In 1908, Dry sold the property to Lawson J. Foil.  The mill was purchased by Charles Crowell in 1919 and was later inherited by Crowell’s daughter, Mary, and her husband, Leonard Ritchie.  The original mill underwent several renovations and additions over its 90+ years, but it continued to operate into the 21st century.  It was demolished in 2019.

78) Tuscarora Mill – The Tuscarora Cotton Mill was chartered on 5 Sep 1899.  It was built on land purchased from James P. Cook and his sister, Maggie J. Cook (married Franklin Wingard in 1907) and was part of the estate of Matthew Cook, father of James and Maggie Cook. The earliest record of this land thus far traced was from 1843 when Michael Cook (brother of Mathew Cook) purchased a 186 acre tract on Dutch Buffalo Creek from Jacob Misenheimer, trustee of Jeremiah Blackwelder. Blackwelder had moved (or was moving) from North Carolina and was disposing of his land. In 1851 Michael Cook, a former MP Post Master, sold his land holdings to his brother, Matthew.  Matthew Cook died in 1894 and his estate, including the property acquired from Michael Cook, was divided among his heirs.  His son, James P. Cook, received fourteen acres and his daughter, Margaret J. Cook, received fourteen acres. Charter members of the Board of Directors of Tuscarora Mill were J. W. Cannon, Rev. Paul Barringer, D. D. Barrier, J. S. Efird, Jonas Cook, M. A. Foil, & A. N. James.  The first meeting of Stock Holders was held on 19 Sep 1899 at Cook & Foil’s storeroom in Mt. Pleasant and included many of the more prominent men and women in Mt. Pleasant.  J. W. Cannon, one of the original founders of the mill, was also the owner and founder of Cannon Mills Corporation. (See the Miscellanous Chapter for a complete list of original stockholders.) In 1944, Martin B. Foil, Sr., son of William Archibald Foil and Addie Elizabeth Boger, assumed ownership and control of the mill. Tuscarora Yarns, Inc. eventually included four mills in North & South Carolina.  The mill ceased operation about 2010. The property was sold to Chris and Joy Pinto in 2016. The current address is 8760 E. Franklin St.

79&80)  Holy Trinity Lutheran Church & Parsonage – Holy Trinity Lutheran Church was organized at NC College in 1868 and the congregation worshipped in the College Chapel for five years before building a church on this site in 1873 across the street from the Mont Amonea Female Academy.  The first minister to serve in the new church was the Rev. D. M. Henkle.  The property on which the Church was built was purchased from H. T. J. Ludwig by the Trustees of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church in 1871.  H. T. J. Ludwig had purchased the land from his parents in 1868.  According to church records, the church building was designed and built by H. C. McAllister for a cost of $5,000.  The first parsonage for the Church was located across the street next to the Mont Amoena Seminary, but this was sold to the Seminary in 1893. Later that same year, a lot beside the church was acquired from C. P. Cox. The house on this lot became the site of the new parsonage. It was later demolished an the present parsonage was constructed. Holy Trinity is the oldest church building still standing and in use in Cabarrus County.  The present address of the church is 1500 S. Main St.

81) Mont Amoena Seminary (1st building) –  The land on which the first Mont Amoena building was built consisted of two tracts sold to Charles Kluttz in 1856 by P. C. B. Smith and J. J. Misenheimer.  In 1857, Kluttz sold the land to Jacob Foil of Rowan Co. NC.  In 1858, Foil sold the land to William A. Smith.  In 1859, Smith sold the land to the Trustees of Montamoena Seminary. There was a house on this lot which became the site of Mont Amoena Seminary. The house was expanded over the next few years but the school suspended operations in 1863 and the Board of Trustees of Montameona sold the land and building to John A. Troutman, one of the Trustees.  In 1864, Troutman sold the land to Alfred Smith of Columbus Co. NC. Later in 1864, Smith sold the property to Dr. P. J. A. Haines.  In 1866, Haines leased the building to Rev. G. D. Bernheim who was at that time residing in Mecklenburg Co. NC.  Bernheim took over the operation of the Seminary and purchased the property from Haines in 1867.  In 1870, Bernheim sold the school and the property to the NC Lutheran Synod who took over operation of the School.  On Thanksgiving evening in 1911, during a play being presented in the school auditorium, one of the wood stoves used for heat in the Seminary became too hot and caught the building on fire.  The ensuing blaze completely destroyed the building and most of the possessions of the school and the students.  Almost immediately, however, the citizens of Mt. Pleasant, led by the congregation of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, began a fund raising effort which saw a new structure completed in 1913 near the original site.  (see  #83)

82) 1st Holy Trinity Parsonage – The first parsonage for Holy Trinity Lutheran Church was located on this site next to Mont Amoena Seminary. It was sold by the Trustees of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church to their minister, Charles L.T. Fisher, in 1892.  Fisher was also the Principal at Mont Amoena Seminary. The parsonage was sold by Fisher to the Seminary in 1893 and, while it survived the 1911 fire which consumed the Seminary, it later burned  and was not rebuilt.

83) Mont Amoena Seminary (2nd building) – This building, constructed in 1913, was located just of and behind the original Mont Amoena Seminary which was destroyed by fire in 1911.  The largest portion of the land on which the new building was constructed was sold to the NC Lutheran Synod, represented as the Board of Trustees of Mont Amoena Female Seminary, by Rev. J. H. C. Fisher, who was then the Principal of the school.  [As part of the purchase agreement, Fisher received the lot on which the old Seminary had stood.]  Three additional small tracts of land bordering S. Main St. were also purchased by the Board of Trustees. These lots were owned by James L. Lefler, C. G. Heilig, and Paul K. Dry [See MP Deeds].  The new Mont Amoena was, unlike its predecessor, a brick structure built on a grand scale, with a large front portico supported by massive gothic columns. The building contained classrooms, dormitory space, offices, a gymnasium, a library, laundry & bathroom facilities, along with a complete physical plant that ran the entire length of the basement.  The bathrooms had hot and cold water which was pumped from a well drilled through two hundred feet of rock.   Mont Amoena Seminary closed in 1927 and the building was utilized as an elementary school for children living in Mt. Pleasant and as a meeting place for various local civic clubs and organizations. A portion of the building was also converted into rental apartments.  In 1933 the Board of Trustees transferred ownership of the property to the Elders of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church in Mt. Pleasant.  In 1945 the Trustees of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church sold the property to Elwood B. Durham and R. J. Goodman.  In 1965, Durham & Goodman sold the property to the Trustees of the Mt. Pleasant First Baptist Church. In 1967, the structure was demolished and today the area is used as a park/playground by the Baptist Church.

84) Lefler House – The property on which this house stood shares some common ownership with the adjacent property on which the Kindley House stood (see #85 below) and exact descriptions are somewhat confusing. In 1870 George R. P. Miller purchased the property on which this house stood from Jacob Ludwig. In 1879, Miller sold the lot to Dela Lefler, the wife of James Lefler.  James Lefler was a local blacksmith. In 1884 James and Dela Lefler purchased an adjacent lot from William W. Smith. The Smith lot contained a house and blacksmith shop and had previously belonged to Caleb Cicero Barrier. Lefler appears to have demolished the old house and built a new residence on the combined property. He also maintained a blacksmith shop behind the house. Dela Lefler died in 1911 and James Lefler remarried, but it appears that this property remained in her name.  In 1943 the heirs of Dela Lefler sold the Miller property (#84) to John S. Kindley. On 15 Jun 1945, J. S. Kindley transferred the property to his son, Kenneth J. Kindley.  One month later on 11 Jul 1945, K. J. Kindley sold the property to Verna Mae Hahn Sigmon, wife of Hugh W. Sigmon. In April 1956 Verna Mae Sigmon Link and her (2nd) husband, John W. Link, transferred the property to Jesse L. Alexander and his wife, Bertha Wise Alexander.  In 1990, Bertha Alexander, widow of Jesse Alexander, sold the land to Daniel C. Smith. In 1997, Smith sold the land to Norman E. Arazie.  In 2005 the land was purchased by Lawrence Arazie and Steven Gause.  In 2021 Christopher and Whitney Swofford purchased the property and constructed the present house. The current address is 1550 S. Main St.

85)  Kindley House – The land on which this house was built can be traced back to the purchase of 88 acres of land by Jacob Ludwig from Paul Rinehardt (see #71).  The land was previously owned by Paul’s father, Christopher Rinehardt.  In 1853 a portion of the land was sold to C. P. Cox by Jacob Ludwig.  In 1863 John M. Misenheimer purchased the Cox tract of one acre. This tract contained appx. 165 ft. of frontage on the Salisbury/Charleston Rd.  In 1870, Misenheimer purchased a second tract directly adjacent to the Cox tract from Jacob Ludwig.  John M. Misenheimer was married to Sarah Ann Ludwick, the niece of Jacob Ludwig. J. M. Misenheimer died in 1872 and Sarah married Michael Goodman. 1905, Sarah Goodman and her daughter, Florence Misenheimer Barrier, wife of William D. Barrier, sold the property to John S. Kindley. Kindley constructed on the property. In 1906 Kindley sold a portion of the property to Dr. Joseph Mathews (see #86 below).  In 1949, John Kindley’s son, Kenneth J. Kindley, sold the house and property to Homer M. Barrier and his wife, Faye Furr Barrier. In 1950 H. M. Barrier sold the house to Clarence E. Ridenhour and his wife, Irene Barrier Ridenhour.  Clarence Ridenhour died in 1994 and in 2004, the property was inherited by Rita Ridenhour Trembley, daughter of C. E. Ridenhour and wife of Edward Trembley. In 2020 the house and property were sold to Jonathan and Aurelia Helms. The house was demolished in 2020, and a new house recently constructed.  The address is 1576 S. Main St.

86)  Mathews House  The property on which this house was built was a portion of the Kindley property (see #85 above).  In 1906, John S. Kindley sold Dr. Joseph Mathews a 145 sq pole lot from the “southern” portion of his land. Dr. Mathews built a house on the property about 1907.  In 1917,  Dr. Mathews sold the house and property to Martin C. Barringer and his wife, Emma Hahn Barringer.  In 1966, Emma Barringer transferred ownership of the property to her son, John T. Barringer, and his wife, Nancy “Nan” Tucker Barringer.  In 1986, Nan Barringer sold the land to John and Joni Juba.  In 2008, John Juba sold the house to Dr. Allen Dobson, the current owner.  The address is 1600 S. Main St.

87)  James Mill –  In 1909 Augustus N. James and his brother, Crawford James, built a knitting mill on this site.  The land on which the mill was built originally belonged to J. J. Misenheimer, and A. N. James had acquired it after his marriage to Misenheimer’s daughter, Bessie.  The mill initially employed eleven persons and remained in operation for only a few years before being closed and demolished.  In 1945, James sold the property to Michael L. Polk and his wife, Ann Smith Polk.  Mike Polk died in 1988 and Ann died in 1999.  The property was inherited by Betsy Ann Polk, Mike and Ann’s daughter.  Betsy sold the land to Edward and Kathy Medalis in 2000.  The Medalis’  The Medalis’ sold the James Mill lot to Dobson Properties in 2021.  The address is 1625 S. Main St.

88)  J. J. Misenheimer/James House –  The property on which this house stands was sold by Daniel Barrier to J. J. Misenheimer in 1869.  Misenheimer erected the house on the property and resided there until his death in 1889.  In 1889, the house was inherited by Misenheimer’s daughter, Bessie.  Bessie  married Augustus N. James in 1898 and he and Bessie made extensive renovations to the house. The stone work on the house was done by the well known African-American stonemason, Robert Franklin Lynn.  The James family continues to own the house. The current address is 1675 S. Main St.

89)  A. C. Barrier House – This residence was erected sometime after 1871 by Augustus Cicero Barrier.  On 27 Dec 1871 A. C. Barrier purchased a 41/2 tract of land on the Charleston Rd. (S. Main St.) from Dr. P. J. A. Haines.  Barrier appears to have erected his residence on this land.  In 1872 Barrier purchased  from his father, Daniel Barrier, a 165 acre tract on Dutch Buffalo Creek near or adjacent to his first tract. A. C. Barrier died in 1926 and his son, Howard Miller Barrier, inherited the property.  Following H. M. Barrier’s death in 1970, the property was sold at public auction to James T. Cauble and Henry H. Sexton.  In 1972, the property was sold by Cauble and Sexton to W. H. Starrette.  In 1976, Starrette sold the house and property to Billy T. Lynch.  In 1977 Lynch sold portion of the property to Beverly Troxler.  In 1978, Herman H. “Buddy” Watts purchased both tracts of land from Lynch and Troxler.  Buddy and his wife, Janice Mosely Watts currently reside in the residence.  The address is 8500 S. Main St.

90) South Boston SchoolThe South Boston School was one two “field schools” that serviced students in Mt. Pleasant. It was a one-room school house that tradition states opened in the 1840’s, however, a deed dated 29 Dec 1881 describes a one-acre and twenty-one pole tract of land sold by Daniel and Margaret Barrier to the District #32 School Committee (L. G. Heilig, J. J. Misenheimer, and K. M. Cox) for $28.25, described as ”a lot adjoining the lands of A. C. Barrier and others.  This school and another called Tammany Hall, located north of town, remained open until the Mt. Pleasant Graded School (see #26) was built in 1901.

91) Congregational ChurchThis African American Church, located at the corner of C St. and Wade St., was built on the site of an earlier sanctuary built after 1885.  The land on which the church was built was part of a tract of land purchased by former slaves, Harry Heilig and Joseph C. Barrier, from William W. Reid in 1883.  Heilig and Barrier sub-divided the land into lots and sold them to local African American families. The area became known as Reidsville. On 15 Aug 1885, Lot #12 (a 145 sq pole tract) was sold for $15 to the trustees of Zion Wesley Church (AME), ie. Harry Heilig, Andrew Lowder, Cavin Cook, Elias Miller and Wiley Miller. The first structure built on the site was destroyed by a windstorm, and a second building burned in 1918.  The present building was constructed from stone brought from the nearby Barrier Farm. The building was built by an African American stone-mason, Robert Lynn, the son-in-law of Harry Heilig, whose unique use of rough stone is noted in the North Carolina publication, Architects & Builders. The building is on the National Register of Historic